Amrut Triparva


 

“Dreadlock Holiday”  


Whisky Review # 990

Country: India ๐Ÿ‡ฎ๐Ÿ‡ณ
Brand: Amrut Triparva
Type: Single Malt Whisky - Batch#1 - Triple Distilled
Series: Limited Release - 5400 Bottles
Age: NAS
Alcohol By Volume (ABV): 50%
Maturation: Mix of Fresh American Oak and Ex-Bourbon casks
Chill Filtration: No
Price Range: US$ 100-140 (May 2023)
Price/Quality Ratio: ๐Ÿ˜ Quite expensive for a relatively young Whisky
Buying Advice: ๐Ÿ‘ A nice alternative for Scotch but not an every day dram

Colour: Dark Gold with shades of Brown (Natural Colour)

Nose:

A mix of Sweet, Bitter, Sour, Malty & Dusty notes. There's definitively some Varnish in the air. Lots of Fruity notes as well, both from (mature) Fresh Fruit and some Artificially flavored Candies. It's certainly different when compared to Scottish Malt or Triple-Distilled Irish Whiskey. The Alcohol is noticeable but within limits. I get images of ripe Tropical Fruit that was soaked in Rum.

Main Aromas:

Malted Barley, Vanilla, Butter Biscuits, Dried Fruit like Raisins, Figs, Dates & Plums, Apricot-filled Puff Pastry, Dusty Oak, Candies (Pineapple, Banana & Cherry flavour), Orange, Grapefruit, Chocolate, Cinnamon, Mint and Cloves.

Supportive Aroma Accents:

Honey, Toffee, Caramel, Wax, Glue, Yeast, Grass, Varnish, Dusty Track, Rum,  Fresh and Dried Herbs, Floral Perfume, Bounty Bars, Roasted Almonds, Nectarine, Papaya, Mango, Ginger, Curry, Green Plants, Dairy and Olive Oil.

Palate:

The relative Youth of this Single Malt becomes more clear now and the Alcohol is certainly more noticeable at this point. The Palate is a Fruity mix of Sweet, Bitter & Sour notes.

Main Flavours:

Sweet Barley, Caramel, Vanilla, Wax, Candies (Banana, Cherry, Pineapple & Melon flavour), Mandarin, Seville-Orange, Grapefruit, Mango, Chocolate, Glue, Ashes, Pepper, Cinnamon and Cloves.

Supportive Flavour Accents:

Honey, Wax, Bounty Bars, Floral Perfume, Varnish, Slivovitz, Papaya, Nectarine and Passion Fruit, Toasted Almonds, Marzipan, Herbs, Dusty Earth, Tobacco, Nutmeg, Curry and Ginger.


Finish:

Medium-Long and Bitter Sweet. Very Fruity with developing Oak and Ashes towards the Medium Dry to Dry end. The Alcohol is more noticeable by now. A tropical Fruit cocktail mixed with Rum, Syrup & Fresh Orange Juice. I find Malted Barley, Caramel, Vanilla, Honey, Passion Fruit, Mango, Pineapple, Papaya, Seville-Orange, Grapefruit, Lemon, Nectarine, Apricot, Slivovitz, Almonds, Chocolate, Dark Espresso, Straw, Dusty Oak, Ash, Earth, Pepper, Cinnamon, Ginger, Cloves, Nutmeg, Curry & Mint.

Drinking Advice:

A little Water eases the Alcohol and enhances the Fruit Flavours. I certainly advise you to add a few drops in this case. 

Rating: 8 (********)

Nose: 7,5 - Taste: 8 - Finish: 7.5

*** Important Note with respect to Rating.

If the Final score is above 8 you can safely buy the whisky in question if and when it fits your Aroma/Flavor profile. If the score is between 6 and 8 you might want to try it out in the form of a sample or if offered at a good price. Anything below 6 should be left alone when you are looking for a nice sipping whisky. You might still like it of course & I realize pricing is an important item for many whisky fans especially when you are used to enjoy whisky in a cocktail or a mixed drink.

Drinking Experience Neat: Good

Conclusion:

The Amrut distillery is located in Kumbalgodu, just outside Bangalore. It started producing Whisky in the Mid-80's but the first Amrut Single Malt was released in 2004. It now produces 1 million litres if Spirit per year. The Triparva (Hindu for "Consisting of three Parts") was launched in 2020 as the first Triple-Distilled Indian Single Malt.

Whisky matures much quicker in India as a result of the warm and humid climate. The Triparva is certainly a relatively Young Whisky (5 Years perhaps) but it presents itself ripe and even a bit "heavy". That's the reason I would not consider it to be an everyday dram. But it's well-made and there are moments when the Fruit kind of explodes in your mouth. Triple-distilled Irish Whiskey is often referred to as more Smooth but I can't say that about the Triparva. When drinking this Indian Single Malt I don't get images of the Fresh & Green Irish coast but more of sipping Pina Colada in the Caribic.

Cheers! ๐Ÿฅƒ

Jan van den Ende                                                                           May 18, 2023

Jura The Bay 12 Years


 “Baywatch”


Whisky Review # 989

Country: Scotland ๐Ÿด๓ ง๓ ข๓ ณ๓ ฃ๓ ด๓ ฟ
Region: Islands - Jura
Brand: Jura The Bay
Type: Single Malt Whisky
Age: 12 Years
Alcohol By Volume (ABV): 44%
Maturation: American White Oak Ex-Bourbon Casks
Finish: Casks that previously contained 15 Year old Pedro Jimenez Sherry
Chill Filtration: Yes
Price Range: US$ 45-60 (May 2023)
Price/Quality Ratio: ๐Ÿ‘
Buying Advice: ๐Ÿ˜ It's not a bad Jura but it's not quite my style of Whisky.

Colour: Dark Amber with shades of Orange and Brown (Artificially Colored)

Nose:

Quite Sweet. It's cleaner than most of the Jura Malt that I've tasted so far. No real off-notes with the exception of a little Sulphur perhaps. The PX-Finish has left its mark with notes of Nuts and Dried Fruits. After a while some lightly Bitter, Salty and Sour notes come through and provide some balance for the Sweetness. The Alcohol is reasonably well-integrated.

Main Aromas:

Sweet Toasted Barley, Salted Caramel, Dried Fruit like Raisins, Sultanas, Plums and Dates, Nuts, Nougat, Stewed Apples & Bananas, Dusty Charred Casks, Dried Herbs, Dark Chocolate, Seville Orange, Roasted Coffee, Cinnamon, Ginger and Nutmeg.

Supportive Aroma Accents:

Buttered Toast, Toffee, Honey, Butterscotch, Brown Sugar, Marzipan, Dairy, Dough, Straw, Dusty Earth, Tobacco, Pepper and Cloves.


Palate:

Bitter-Sweet with a few Sour and Salty notes for balance. The Alcohol is certainly more noticeable now but it stays within limits. It's not a bad Jura but it's a bit Heavy and Dull. Not really my style.

Main Flavours:

Sweet Toasted Barley, Salted Caramel, Toffee, Dried Fruit like Raisins, Sultanas, Figs and Dates, Plum Jam, Nuts, Dark Chocolate, Roasted Coffee, Stewed Bananas and Apples, Seville Orange, Grapefruit, Dusty Casks, Pepper, Licorice, Ginger, Aniseed and Cinnamon.

Supportive Flavour Accents:

Honey, Vanilla, Dairy, Nougat, Tobacco, Lemon, Dirty Earth, Nutmeg, Cloves, Mint and Slightly Sour Berries. Perhaps a light Plastic note.


Finish:

Middle-Long and mostly Bitter-Sweet. Developing Salty and Sour notes towards the Medium-Dry end. I find Sweet Toasted Barley, Salted Caramel, Toffee, Honey, Dairy, Yeast, Dried Fruit like Sultanas, Plums and Apricots, Nuts, Dark Chocolate, Roasted Coffee, Dusty Oak, Dried Herbs, Dirty Earth, Seville Orange, Grapefruit, Licorice, Aniseed, Mint, Pepper, Cinnamon, Nutmeg, Mint and Ginger. The PX influence is quite clear. A light Metal note after a while. The Alcohol is a bit more noticeable at this point. I also have the feeling that it's rather heavy on the added Caramel.

Drinking Advice:

Added Water does not improve The Bay. Best way to enjoy is Neat.

Rating: 7.5 (*******1/2)

Nose: 7.5 - Taste: 7,5 - Finish: 7.5

*** Important Note with respect to Rating.

If the Final score is above 8 you can safely buy the whisky in question if and when it fits your Aroma/Flavor profile. If the score is between 6 and 8 you might want to try it out in the form of a sample or if offered at a good price. Anything below 6 should be left alone when you are looking for a nice sipping whisky. You might still like it of course & I realize pricing is an important item for many whisky fans especially when you are used to enjoy whisky in a cocktail or a mixed drink.

Drinking Experience Neat: Okay/Good

Drinking Experience On the Rocks: Okay/Good

Conclusion
:


Jura means Deer Island. The Distillery is located in the small village of Craighouse the island's "capital". Craighouse lies on the A 846, some eight miles from the Ferry Terminal to Islay. It was founded in 1810 and since 1993 it belongs to Whyte & Mackay Ltd (Now United Spirits). Jura is mostly known as a Single Malt but it's also a very important part of the Whyte & Mackay Special Blend. The Distillery possesses 1 Stainless Steel Semi Lauter Mash Tun, six stainless steel Wash Backs and two Pairs of Stills. In 2022 their total production amounted to around 2,4 million litres. The following Single Malts are part of the new core range introduced during 2018: Journey, Seven Wood, 10, 12, 18, 14 Year Rye and 21 Years (Tide).

Jura has never been on my list of favorite distilleries but they have improved the quality of their Whisky in the last few years. Gone are the Cooked Veggies and Baby Vomit notes I got ever so often. The Whisky is more clean thanks to improved Cask Management &, probably, the shorter running time of the Heart in the Spirit Still. The Bay is certainly not a bad Jura but it's a little Boring. It's also a bit Heavy on the added Caramel if you ask me. Improvements have been made though and I'm looking forward to the day I can fully enjoy a Jura expression.

Cheers! ๐Ÿฅƒ

Jan van den Ende                                                                           May 11, 2023

Welche's Whisky


“Voyage Voyage”


Whisky Review # 988

Country: France ๐Ÿ‡ซ๐Ÿ‡ท
Region: Alsace
Brand: Welche's Whisky
Distilled at: G. Miclo, Lapoutroie, France
Type: Single Malt Whisky
Age: NAS (Probably Around 3 Years)
Alcohol By Volume (ABV): 43%
Maturation: Ex-Sauternes Casks (Sweet French Wine)
Chill Filtration: No
Sample provided by Jan from The Netherlands. Many Thanks!
Price Range: US$ 35-45 (May 2023)
Price/Quality Ratio: ๐Ÿ‘ Okay.
Buying Advice: ๐Ÿ˜ Not for everyday but certainly worth the try

Colour: Amber (Natural Color)

Nose:

Young and Sweet. Not unlike a Fruit Liqueur. The Sauternes cask is quite present. The Alcohol is noticeable but does not interfere with the Nosing. Lots of Fresh and Dried Fruits. There's a bit of rather pushy Perfume as well. Still, not bad all things considered.

Main Aromas:

Sweet Barley, Vanilla, Bread Dough, Dried Fruit like Plums, Apricots and Sultanas, Mandarin, Papaya Cream with Cassis, Strong Floral Perfume, Dusty Oak, Cinnamon and Tobacco.
    
Supportive Aroma Accents:

Honey, Pastry made with a mix of Butter and Margarine, Poire Williams, Nectarine, Orange, Ripe Banana, Nougat, Nutella, Cognac and White Pepper.


Palate:

Young & mostly Sweet in the beginning but with developing Bitterness for balance. It tastes like a mix of Whisky, Bourbon, Brandy & Slivovitz. Well-made though. Just don't compare it to Scotch Single Malt. It's a different animal. The Alcohol is more noticeable now.

Main Flavours:

Sweet Barley, Vanilla, Dried Apricot, Mandarin, Floral Perfume/Soap, Nougat, Dusty Casks, Slivovitz, Milk Chocolate, Cinnamon and Pepper.

Supportive Flavour Accents:

Honey, Toffee, Buttered Pastry, Orange, Poire Williams, Nectarine, Mizunara Oak, Glue, Grappa, Ripe Banana, Caffe Latte and Tobacco.


Finish:

Bitter-Sweet, a little Thin and on the Short side. Its Youth is more noticeable and so is the Alcohol. It reminds me a bit of Slivovitz. I find Sweet Barley, Vanilla, Honey, Cream, Buttered Pastry, Milk Chocolate, Poire Williams, Plums, Mandarins, Dusty Oak, Tobacco, Pepper, Cinnamon, Nutmeg, Cloves, Cardamom and Licorice.

Drinking Advice:

Due to the size of the sample I only tasted this Welche's Whisky neat.

Rating: 7 (*******)

Nose: 7.5 - Taste: 7 - Finish: 6

*** Important Note with respect to Rating.

If the Final score is above 8 you can safely buy the whisky in question if and when it fits your Aroma/Flavor profile. If the score is between 6 and 8 you might want to try it out in the form of a sample or if offered at a good price. Anything below 6 should be left alone when you are looking for a nice sipping whisky. You might still like it of course & I realize pricing is an important item for many whisky fans especially when you are used to enjoy whisky in a cocktail or a mixed drink.

Drinking Experience Neat: Okay/Good

Conclusion:

Gilbert Miclo founded the distillery in 1962. It soon specialized in quality Brandies and Fruit Liqueurs, aided by the huge amount of fruit trees in the region. They represent about half of the 200.000 bottles produced annually. The rest is flavored vodka (introduced in the early 2010's) and Single Malt Whisky that was added to the portfolio in 2016. The third generation of the family entered the company in 2009. Miclo's products are often found in Michelin star restaurants.

I was pleasantly surprised by the quality of this Single Malt. Yes, it's different when compared to Scotch Single Malt but that's okay. You can taste the Miclo history in this Whisky as it does remind me of Fruit Liqueur from time to time, amplified by the use of the Sauternes cask. I would certainly love to try a Welche's Single Malt Whisky that matured for 12 years or so in an Ex-Bourbon cask. In any case this little French distillery is certainly going in the right direction with their products!   

Cheers! ๐Ÿฅƒ

Jan van den Ende                                                                              May 3, 2023

The Electric Coo Series 27 Years


“Watts in a Name”


Whisky Review # 987

Country: Scotland ๐Ÿด๓ ง๓ ข๓ ณ๓ ฃ๓ ด๓ ฟ
Region: Undisclosed
Brand: The Electric Coo Series
Produced, Matured and Bottled By/For: Campbeltown Whisky Company Ltd. (CWCL)
Type: Blended Scotch Whisky
Age: 27 Years - Distilled: 1993 - Bottled: 2020
Alcohol By Volume (ABV): 42.1%
Maturation: Re-Fill Ex-Sherry Butt
Chill Filtration: No
Price: Around US$ 85 (April 2023)
Price/Quality Ratio: ๐Ÿ‘ Good
Buying Advice: ๐Ÿ˜ More interesting than your average Blend. A bit Thin though.

Colour: Golden Amber (Natural Colour)

Nose:

The Nose is pleasant albeit a little thin considering its age. It's well-matured though and the Alcohol is nicely integrated. Both the Grain(Glue) and the Re-Fill Sherry Cask (Dried Fruits and Nuts) make themselves known. No Off-Notes to be found and no Sulphur as well. The Nose is mainly Sweet with a few Sour, Mineral and slightly Bitter notes for balance.

Main Aromas:

Sweet Grain, Malted Barley, Caramel, Dried Fruit like Raisins, Sultanas, Apricots, Figs and Prunes, Fruitcake, Mixed Nuts, Red Berries and Cherries, Milk Chocolate, Citrus Peel (Orange and Lemon), Glue, Coconut, Dusty Casks, Cinnamon, Tobacco & Leather.
    
Supportive Aroma Accents:

Honey, Buttered Toast, Syrup, Sugar, Toffee, Vanilla, Wet Rocks, Grass, Cafe Latte, Sweet White Wine, Apple Vinegar, Toasted Pineapple, Pepper, Nutmeg and Licorice.

Campbeltown
Palate:

Mostly Sweet with a few Sour and Mineral notes and a light Bitterness for balance. It's a bit on the Thin side and a slightly higher ABV would have helped here. It's not bad but a bit Rough and Sharp when compared to the Nose.

Main Flavours:

Sweet Grain Alcohol, Malted Barley, Caramel, Honey, Red Berries, Dried Fruit like Sultanas, Figs, Prunes and Apricots, Mixed Nuts, Grapefruit, Citrus Peel (Orange and Lemon), Dusty Charred Oak, Pepper, Nutmeg, Tobacco and Leather.

Supportive Flavour Accents:

Toffee, Vanilla, Grass, Wax, Buttered Toast, Dark Cherries, Glue, Nail Polish, Caffe Latte, Coconut, Milk Chocolate, Fruitcake, Ginger, Cinnamon, Cloves and Licorice.

Finish
:


Short/Middle Long and a little Thin. A mix of Sweet and Sour notes with only a very mild Bitterness towards the Medium Dry end. Quite a bit of Spice now from the cask. I also find Sweet Grain, Malted Barley, Brown Sugar, Caramel, Grass, Yeast, Dried Fruit like Prunes, Figs Sultanas and Apricots, Red Berry-Flavored Yogurt, Glue, Nail Polish, Mixed Nuts, Caffee Latte, Cocoa Powder, Grapefruit, Lemon, Dusty Oak, Pepper, Ginger, Cloves, Leather, Tobacco and light Licorice.

Drinking Advice:

This Blend does not improve with added Water.

Rating: 7.5 (*******1/2)

Nose: 8 - Taste: 7.5 - Finish: 7

*** Important Note with respect to Rating.

A few of my loyal readers have pointed out that every once in a while my final Rating note did not seem to be totally in line with the written text. I recognize that. When I started this Whisky Blog back in 2011, I was not at all experienced in tasting and scoring Single Malts & Blends. Looking back I realize that during the early years I probably scored the good Whiskies too low and the not so good Whiskies too high. Ever since the beginning I try to remain consequent in my rating, always comparing the outcome to the rating of comparable whiskies in terms of quality and taste and adjusting the final rating if necessary. This might lead to the discrepancy I mentioned before. As a result I have decided to use a new rating system this year. I will still give a rating for Nose, Taste and Finish but now on the scale from 1-10 whereby 1 represents the worst and 10 the best. The sum of these numbers will be divided by 3 to get the rounded final score. I hope this new scoring makes it easier for you to understand what I thought about the whisky I'm reviewing.

If the Final score is above 8 you can safely buy the whisky in question if and when it fits your Aroma/Flavor profile. If the score is between 6 and 8 you might want to try it out in the form of a sample or if offered at a good price. Anything below 6 should be left alone when you are looking for a nice sipping whisky. You might still like it of course & I realize pricing is an important item for many whisky fans especially when you are used to enjoy whisky in a cocktail or a mixed drink. Please let me know what you think of the new rating system and leave your comments and/or suggestions.

Drinking Experience Neat
: Good

Conclusion:

The Electric Coo Series have been developed by CWCL. This company was founded by Mark Watt (Ex-Cadenhead) and David Stirk (Ex-The Creative Whisky Company), good friends who have been active in the industry for a long time. A Stirk is a name for a Young Cow and we all know Watt as related to Electricity. Each of the two has selected 3 casks for this series. It's a well-hidden secret as to what distilleries form part of this Blend. North British (Grain) and the Edrington Group that a.o. owns the Single Malt Distilleries Macallan, Highland Park and Glenrothes have been mentioned as possible candidates. In any case I do believe that this Blend contains a little more Malt than the usual 30%.

Good initiative by Mark and David. No Caramel, no Chill-Filtration and a blend that is better than today's average Blended Whisky. And sold at an acceptable Price level when considered its age. You know I'm Dutch by birth so there's always gonna be a But. In this case I think the relatively low ABV does not do justice to the Blend. At 46% this would have been much better. It would be a bit more expensive of course but I would gladly pay the extra bucks. In any case I look forward to try more of these series if I can find them.

Cheers!

Jan van den Ende                                                                           April 28, 2023

Cadenhead Shop, Campbeltown

Johnnie Walker Black Sherry Finish




“Black Is Not Black”


Whisky Review # 986

Country: Scotland ๐Ÿด๓ ง๓ ข๓ ณ๓ ฃ๓ ด๓ ฟ
Brand: Johnnie Walker Black Sherry Finish
Type: Blended Scotch Whisky
Age: 12 Years
Alcohol By Volume (ABV): 40%
Maturation: Probably a mix of mostly Ex-Bourbon casks & some Sherried Wood
Finish: Casks seasoned with Sherry from Jerez de la Frontera, Spain
Chill Filtration: Yes
Price Range: US$ 25-35 (April 2023)
Price/Quality Ratio: ๐Ÿ‘
Buying Advice: ๐Ÿ‘ if you are looking for a Sweeter and less Smoky Black Label

Colour: Amber with shades of Red and Orange (Artificially Colored)

Nose:

Sweet and Pleasant but even less Smoky than the standard Black. The Grain Alcohol remains dominant but the Sherry influence is clear with Dark Berries, Dried Fruits and Nuts.

Main Aromas:

Grain Alcohol, Toasted Grain, Toffee, Salted Caramel, Grass and Straw, Dried Fruit like Raisins, Dates, Plums, Apricots and Figs, Dark Berries & Cherries, Orange Peel, Mixed Nuts and Nut Shells, Dark Chocolate, Earthy Peat, Dusty Oak, Cinnamon and Pepper.
    
Supportive Aroma Accents:

Sweet Barley, Honey, Vanilla, Buttered Toast, Brown Sugar, Rum, Dusty Track, Dark Chocolate, Smoke, Ginger, Aniseed, Tobacco and hints of Licorice and Ashes.

Cardhu Distillery

Palate:

Despite the Sweet influence of the Sherried casks, this JW Blend can't hide the fact that the principal component is Grain Whisky. It's a pity that no one, at least in an official way, has tested a blend with a 50/50 Grain/Malt content and an ABV of 43%. That might be a stunner! As it is the Palate basically follows the Nose with a mix of Dried Fruit, Nuts, Spices and Grain.

Main Flavours:

Grain Alcohol, Toffee, Salted Caramel, Brown Sugar, Dried Fruit like Prunes, Dates, Figs, Apricots, Raisins and Prunes, Cherry-Flavored Cough Syrup, Mixed Nuts, Dark Chocolate, Dusty Oak, Orange Peel, Cinnamon, Ginger and Pepper.

Supportive Flavour Accents:

Sweet Barley, Vanilla, Honey, Red Berries, Green Vegetables, Dusty Track, Earthy Peat, Smoke, Ashes, Tobacco, Cardamom, Licorice, Espresso and Menthol.
 
Cameronbridge Grain Distillery

Finish
:


Short/Middle Long with a slightly Sharp Grain Alcohol Kick. Mostly Sweet but with a little Bitterness towards the Medium Dry/Dry end. I also find Grain Alcohol, Toasted Grain, Salted Caramel, Sweet Barley, Vanilla, Toffee, Honey, Dried Fruit like Plums, Prunes, Raisins, Dates & Figs, Cherry-Flavored Cough Syrup, Dark Chocolate, Mixed Nuts, Herbs, Dusty Road, Earthy Peat, Smoke, Ashes, Tobacco, Cinnamon, Pepper, Cardamon, Dusty Oak, Herbs and Espresso.

Drinking Advice:

I added a little Water and although the Blend becomes dangerously easy to drink, you also miss most of the Aromas and Flavors. But in all honesty, this Blend is not interesting enough as a sipping Whisky. It's nice on the Rocks though.

Rating: 7 (*******)

Nose: 7.5 - Taste: 7 - Finish: 6

*** Important Note with respect to Rating.

A few of my loyal readers have pointed out that every once in a while my final Rating note did not seem to be totally in line with the written text. I recognize that. When I started this Whisky Blog back in 2011, I was not at all experienced in tasting and scoring Single Malts & Blends. Looking back I realize that during the early years I probably scored the good Whiskies too low and the not so good Whiskies too high. Ever since the beginning I try to remain consequent in my rating, always comparing the outcome to the rating of comparable whiskies in terms of quality and taste and adjusting the final rating if necessary. This might lead to the discrepancy I mentioned before. As a result I have decided to use a new rating system this year. I will still give a rating for Nose, Taste and Finish but now on the scale from 1-10 whereby 1 represents the worst and 10 the best. The sum of these numbers will be divided by 3 to get the rounded final score. I hope this new scoring makes it easier for you to understand what I thought about the whisky I'm reviewing.

If the Final score is above 8 you can safely buy the whisky in question if and when it fits your Aroma/Flavor profile. If the score is between 6 and 8 you might want to try it out in the form of a sample or if offered at a good price. Anything below 6 should be left alone when you are looking for a nice sipping whisky. You might still like it of course & I realize pricing is an important item for many whisky fans especially when you are used to enjoy whisky in a cocktail or a mixed drink. Please let me know what you think of the new rating system and leave your comments and/or suggestions.

Drinking Experience Neat
: Okay/Good

Drinking Experience on the Rocks: Good

Conclusion:

Johnnie Walker Black Label Sherry Finish is made with Grain Whisky from Lowland Distillery Cameronbridge and Single Malts from a/o Cardhu, Clynelish, Glenkinchie and Caol Ila.

It's not a bad Blend and a good Start for beginning Whisky Drinkers that want to explore the Smoky side but in an easy way. The best way to enjoy this Blend is over Ice. The standard Black is still my to-go-to Blend because of its good Price/Quality ratio. I like it better than this Sherry Finish as it presents a bit more Smoke & Peat from Caol Ila. But in case you prefer it a bit more Sweet & less Smoky, this Sherry Finish might just be the Blend for you.

Cheers!

Jan van den Ende                                                                           April 12, 2023


Caol Ila