Talisker Dark Storm Review


“Storms Over Skye”

A Bit of History.

On September 15, 2013, I reviewed the Talisker Storm. Here are the Tasting Notes I wrote back then:

Country: Scotland
Brand: Talisker Storm
Type: Single Malt Whisky
Region: Highland - Islands - Skye
Age: NAS
ABV: 45,8%

Colour: Light Gold

Nose: With a name like this I would have expected impressions of Briny Waves full of Foamy Salty Water breaking on the rocks and screaming white Seagulls fighting the Dark and Rolling Thunderclouds above the Isle of Skye. In reality, the Nose of the Storm is not much more than a gentle Breeze of (Tropical) Fruits like Banana, Apricot and Pineapple, Honey, Salted Butter, Malt, Pencil Shavings and Orange Peel in combination with some Leather, Dusty Earth, Wood Smoke, Pepper, Ginger, Mint and hints of BBQ and Band-Aids. It's clear that there are some young spirits included in the Storm and the Alcohol is not completely embedded. When compared to the Talisker 10, the Storm has perhaps a tad more Peat and Salt. 

Taste: On the Thin side despite the relatively high ABV. It is quite Dry and Salty and presents a light Bitterness that could be a result of relaxed Wood Management. I find light Wood Smoke, Dusty Peat, Brine, Grass, Malt, Wax, Leather, Nuts, Honey and Pepper. It's not as diverse as the 10 Years but perhaps slightly more balanced.


Finish: Medium Long, Dry and Salty with (Chili) Pepper, Wood Smoke, Oak, Peat, Ginger and a touch of Honey. Rather forgettable. It's in the Finish that the Storm clearly loses the battle against the 10 Year.

The Talisker Storm does not accept Water very well despite its fiery name.  

Rating: 84,5

Nose: 21 – Taste: 21.5 – Finish: 21 – Overall: 21

Conclusion: The Talisker distillery is part of Diageo. And Diageo takes marketing very seriously. Talisker sales have boomed during the last years. And everybody knows the word-wide success story of Johnny Walker Blue despite it being overpriced and overvalued. But let's go back to Talisker. With the Ten Years they have a standard OB that's quite good although quality has dropped a bit over the years. I would not be surprised if increasing demand for the 10 years was threatening supply. So a short-term solution needed to be found. And that solution could well be the NAS Storm that was introduced with the usual quality marketing of Diageo. Great packaging and presentation that will certainly please potential buyers. "Bring on the Storm" the propaganda screamed. To me this Single Malt seems to be the temporary assistant of the 10 years until supply and demand of the latter are back in balance. But let's go back to the intrinsic quality of the Storm. When compared to the Nose of the 10 years, the Storm is slightly more Peaty and Salty but also younger and a bit edgy. On the Palate the Storm is actually quite smooth but shows less character than the 10 Years. And while the Finish of the 10 years is something you will remember for the rest of your life, the Finish of the Storm is smooth but quite forgettable. All this leads me to the conclusion that, while the Talisker Storm is not a bad Single Malt, it is actually not much more than a Storm in a Teacup!

Very recently, one of friends travelled abroad and on the way back brought me a bottle of the Dark Storm, bought at the Sao Paulo Airport Travel Retail Shop. I am very curious to see how it is and how it compares to the Storm. So Let's go!

=================================================

 

Whisky Review # 668

Country: Scotland
Region: Highlands - Islands - Skye
Brand: Talisker Dark Storm 
Type: Single Malt Whisky
Age: NAS
Alcohol By Volume (ABV): 45.8%
Maturation: Heavily Charred Bourbon casks. 
Chill Filtration: Yes     
Price Range: Around US$ 70 (December 2017). 
Buying Advice: 😐 Neutral. Not bad for a NAS! Still prefer the 10 Years!  

Colour: Dark Amber with shades of Orange (Artificially Coloured)

Nose: Smoked Kipper, Sweet Earthy Peat and Bacon are my first impressions. For a moment Lagavulin 16 Years popped up in my mind. It's a relatively Young Whisky but apparently the extra Charred casks absorbed a part of the harshness that is characteristic for young peated Malts. The Alcohol is noticeable though so you need to work your way around that. This Whisky could have been made on Islay because I find Iodine, Tar, Band-Aids and Brine. But there's enough Chili and Pepper there that screams I'm Talisker! I also find Sweet Barley, Toasted Cereals, slightly Burnt Toast, Salted Caramel, Vanilla, Brown Sugar, Wax, Yeast and Dusty Attic. The Fruit is represented by thick Warm Apple Sauce, Mandarin, Raisins, Lemon and Orange. Finally Menthol, Leather and traces of Tobacco, Soy Sauce, Banana and Dark Chocolate. It's not bad but it's nothing special either and the Sharp Alcohol bothers me a bit.

Visit May 2017

Palate: Bitter-Sweet and Dry with a few Sour notes towards the end. I find Toasted Cereals, Salted Caramel, Dusty Peat, Yeast, Iodine, Tar, BBQ, Vanilla, Heather-Honey, Nuts, Orange, Lemon, Red Berries, Ripe Apple, Raisins, Leather, Tobacco, Pepper, Nutmeg, Ginger, Licorice, Menthol, Dried Herbs, Charred Oak, Espresso and Dark Chocolate. 

Finish: Quite Long and better than the Storm in this aspect. Still, it's a Young Whisky and there are some Sharp and Raw edges here. Rusty Iron came to my mind. I also find Toasted Cereals, Salted Caramel, Vanilla, Almonds, Mandarin, Orange, Heather-Honey, Apple, Grapefruit, Charred Oak, Pepper, Nutmeg, Clove, Ginger, Aniseed, Licorice, Earthy Peat, Floral Soap, BBQ and Dark Chocolate. On the Finish, this Dark Storm is Bitter-Sweet and Quite Dry. A few Sour notes as well. The Alcohol remains noticeable. After a while a Strawberry note appears out of nowhere.    

Drinking Advice:

I added a little Water and that takes care of the Sharp Alcohol. The Dark Storm accepts a few drops although you do meddle with the character of this Malt. 

Rating: 84.5   

Nose: 21.5 - Taste: 21 - Finish: 20.5 - Overall: 21.5


General Remarks:

🏣   The Distillery and Today's Whisky:

The distillery is located in Carbost on the Isle of Skye and was founded in 1830. The current owners are Diageo. Despite the remote location, Talisker receives lots of visitors and the Shop and VC were recently refurnished. We visited the distillery in May this year and it was crowded! We didn't like the Tour a lot. You are not allowed to take pictures and mill and casks can only be seen behind glass. You can't get very close to the stills as well. It was nice to have a close look at the wooden worm tubs outside. The subsequent Tasting was really nice though and we spend almost an hour in a separate room tasting six different Taliskers. If you're on Skye you should certainly pay Talisker a visit.

The Dark Storm was released specifically for the Travel Retail market in 2013, a few months after the introduction of the Storm. Dark Storm was launched as the peatiest Talisker! In the meantime you can buy it on line as well.

Tasting during Visit May 2017

🍷  The Spirit 

Talisker operates two wash stills and three spirit stills. The Lyne arms of the wash stills make a peculiar U bend that increases the contact of the spirit with the copper. The fermentation time is long. The stills produce a lightly peated full-bodied Spicy and Peppery Whisky. The Water is sourced from the Springs on Cnoc Nan Speirag just above the distillery.

Visit May 2017
🌲  The Wood:

The Dark Storm matures in selected heavily Charred casks to create extra Spice and Smoke. I have no specific information on the type of casks used and the colour does not give us any clues as a hand full of Caramel was added. Based on the Tasting however I conclude that Bourbon casks were used. 

Drinking Experience: Good

Conclusion: I just noticed that I gave the Storm and the Dark Storm the same score. Does that mean they are basically the same Whiskies? No, not at all. The Storm is merely a gentle Breeze and an easy going Single Malt. The Dark Storm has more character and is far more Raw and Edgy. Both are quite Salty when compared to other Taliskers. Both Storm and Dark Storm have something in common though. They are both young Whiskies and pale when compared to the  Show stoppers of the distillery, the 10 and the 18 Years. The latter one remains my favourite Talisker and in fact one of my favourite Single Malts.      

Jan van den Ende                                                              December 14, 2017

Image result for talisker distillery
Visit May 2017

Glen Keith 1992 (Archives) Review - Craigellachie 1991 (Scott's Selection) Review, Miltonduff 10 Years (Gordon & MacPhail) Review - Glen Grant 1990 (Gordon & MacPhail) Review


“A Quartet of Indie Speysiders”

Introduction:

Most of you know that I mainly use samples and miniatures when preparing my Reviews. I usually buy these in Holland and sometimes in Germany or the UK. Sometimes I receive samples from friends or readers or independent bottlers. In only two cases I received a few samples directly from distilleries. When planning my reviews for the coming months I always try to give attention to all Scottish Whisky regions as well as other Whisky/Whiskey/Bourbon producing regions all over the world with special attention to the USA, Ireland and Japan. And last but not least the blends. At the request of many readers I give preference to more recent expressions. As a result my backlog of older samples has increased quite a bit. To do justice to those samples I will review them in the format of Specials. These specials will deal with a specific region like today or with specific bottlers, countries or distilleries. The reviews in these Specials will concentrate on the Whisky and won't go into details about distilleries, maturation etc. I do hope you will like these Specials just as much as my regular reviews and I look forward to your reactions and suggestions. Today's special will look at 4 Single Malts from Speyside bottled by various Independent Bottlers. Enjoy!
=================================================

Glen Keith 1992 Arc

Whisky Review # 664

Country: Scotland
Region: Speyside
Brand: Glen Keith 1992
Bottled by: Whiskybase - Archives - The Fishes of Samoa Series
Type: Single Malt Single Cask Whisky
Age: 21 Years
Alcohol By Volume (ABV): 51.5%
Maturation: Bourbon cask # 120599 (218 Bottles) 
Chill Filtration: No   
Buying Advice: 😐 Neutral. Good Malt. A few flaws. Rather expensive. 

Colour: Chardonnay (Natural Colour)

Nose: Relatively Light for a 21 Year old Single Malt. Quite pleasant though with lots of Fruit and Malt. The Alcohol has integrated reasonably well despite the high ABV. I find Sweet Barley, Toffee, Salted Caramel, Butter Kekse (German Butter Biscuits), Puff Pastry, Vanilla, Hay, Grass, Raisins, Heather-Honey, Wax, Peach, Saw Dust, Floral Soap, Apple, Pear, Pineapple, Orange, Latte Macchiato, Almond Paste and traces of Lemon Grass, Cinnamon, Clove, Nutmeg, Wood Polish, Papaya Cream and Menthol. There is also a hint of Dark Red Fruit but I can't quite pin it down. Nice laid-back Nose. Good cask.     

Palate: Bitter-Sweet, Herbal, slightly Sour and Medium Dry. The Alcohol is more present now. I find Toasted Barley, Salted Caramel, Toffee, Honey, Vanilla, Mandarin, Plums, Banana, Pineapple, Toasted Oak, Straw, Dried Herbs, Licorice, Pepper, Cinnamon, Nutmeg, Ginger, Cocoa Powder, Dried Apricot, Menthol and traces of Tobacco and Wood Polish.  

Finish: Mostly Sweet. A few Bitter, Sour and Herbal notes towards the Medium-Dry end. The Alcohol is even more noticeable by now. I find Toasted Barley, Butter Kekse, Salted Caramel, Dough, Grass, Hay, Vanilla, Orange-Flavoured Chocolate, Cocoa Powder, Pear, Apple, Heather-Honey, Latte Macchiato, Menthol, Licorice, Pepper, Cinnamon, Ginger, Nutmeg and a slight Rubbery off-note. 

Rating: 85    

Nose: 22.5 - Taste: 21 - Finish: 20.5 - Overall: 21   

Conclusion:

The Glen Keith I'm reviewing today was distilled in October 1992 and was bottled at Cask Strength in March 2014. Glen Keith's production is mainly used in well-known Blends such as Chivas Regal and Passport. A few bottles of this Archives expression can still be found on the Internet. Prices are in the 160-190 US$ range. Let's see if it's worth that kind of money. The Nose is very nice with all kinds of Fruit but on the Palate Wood and Spices become very prominent and I didn't care for the light Rubbery off-note in the Finish. If Palate and Finish were as good as the Nose I would fully recommend buying a bottle. As it stands however I find the current price a little too stiff for the total package. 

Image illustrative de l'article Glen Keith

=================================================

Craigellachie 1991 Sc

Whisky Review # 665

Country: Scotland
Region: Speyside
Brand: Craigellachie 1991
Bottled by: Scott's Selection
Type: Single Malt Single Cask Whisky
Age: 20 Years
Alcohol By Volume (ABV): 55.8%
Maturation: Bourbon cask # 2712 (225 Bottles) 
Chill Filtration: No   
Buying Advice: 😜 Bored with mainstream? Then give this a try!  

Colour: White Wine/Pale Straw (Natural Colour)

Nose: The Alcohol is there so you will have to find your way around it. Quite different from the Glen Keith by the way. The Glen Keith was pleasant and quite balanced on the Nose but this Craigellachie is still Nervous and Edgy even after 20 years. Less interaction with the cask. The Nose is mainly Sweet but there are quite a few Mineral and Green notes as well. I find Toasted Breakfast Cereals, slightly Burnt Toast with a mix of Butter & Margarine, Farm Yard, Grass, Straw, Vanilla, Wet Sand, Bread Dough, Nuts and Nutshells, Heather-Honey, Cooked Vegetables, Sweet Apple, Pear Drops, Orange, Unripe Strawberries, Muesli Bars, Salted Caramel, Pepper, Nutmeg, Refill Wood and traces of Cherry-Flavoured Candies and Cinnamon. It's all a bit untidy as Field Marshall Montgomery used to say.

Palate: Sweet and Funky. Good Delivery thanks to the high ABV. It remains a bit of a mess but there's a certain flair here that I can't deny. It's the best part of this Malt in my view. I find Toasted Cereals, Salted Caramel, Apricot Jam, Orange-Flavoured Dark Chocolate, Toasted Oak, Heather-Honey, Vanilla, Nuts, Sweet Apple, Pepper, Nutmeg, Cinnamon, Ginger, Cardamom, Licorice, Menthol, and Aniseed. Unripe Pineapples perhaps.    

Finish: Middle-Long but Powerful thanks to the high ABV. Malt, Oak and Spice rule in this department. I find Toasted Cereals, Salted Caramel, Bitter Chocolate, Orange Peel, Pepper, Nutmeg, Ginger, Cardamom, Licorice, Aniseed, Menthol and traces of Dried Fruit like Apricot and Sultanas.   

Rating: 83.5   

Nose: 20.5 - Taste: 21.5 - Finish: 20.5 - Overall: 21   

Conclusion

This Craigellachie was distilled in 1991 and bottled at Cask Strength in October 2011. Craigellachie is of course the home of the Dewar's Blends. The 1991 Single Malt I'm tasting today is certainly an interesting whisky. Not at all boring like many of today's mainstream Single Malts. It is quite funky actually albeit it also a bit nervous, edgy and unbalanced. The best part for me is the Palate and that's highly unusual. You can still buy this Single Malt at around US$ 140. That's not cheap of course and I don't think everybody will like this Craigellachie as it clearly has a mind of its own. But if you're the adventurous type that is easily bored with today's mainstream stuff you might give this one a try! 
Related image

=================================================


Whisky Review # 666

Country: Scotland
Region: Speyside
Brand: Miltonduff
Bottled by: Gordon & MacPhail
Type: Single Malt Whisky
Age: 10 Years
Alcohol By Volume (ABV): 40%
Maturation: A mix of First-Fill and Refill Sherry casks  
Chill Filtration: No    
Buying Advice: 😐 Neutral. Simple Speyside Malt with Good P/Q ratio.  

Colour: Light Golden (Original Colour)

Nose: Quite Light but not unpleasant. Fruity and Floral. The Sherry casks are noticeable but not overly so. Mostly refill casks I would say. I find Sweet Barley, Buttered Toast, Vanilla, Toffee, Caramel, Heather-Honey, Hay, Grass, Charred Oak, Apple, Pear, Orange, Peach, slightly Sour Berries, Fresh Herbs, White Wine, Milk Chocolate, Green Vegetables, Bread Dough and a sprinkle of Lemon. Simple and quite inoffensive.  

Palate: Light and on the Thin Side. An ABV of 40% hardly ever convinces. I find Sweet Barley, Toffee, Butterscotch, Caramel, Hay, Straw, Heather-Honey, Red Apple, Orange, Sour Gooseberries, Fresh Herbs, Green Vegetables, Hazelnuts, Charred Oak, Pepper, Licorice and Sugared Tea.     

Finish: Rather short and a bit Thin. Mostly Sweet but with some Sour and Bitter notes towards the surprisingly Dry end. I find Sweet Barley, Toffee, Caramel, a mix of Nuts, Apple, Orange, Green Vegetables, Charred Oak, Alcohol, Pepper and light Licorice and Menthol.

Rating: 81    

Nose: 21.5 - Taste: 19.5 - Finish: 19.5 - Overall: 20.5   

Conclusion

Miltonduff is mostly known for its contribution to the Ballantine Blends. It's very difficult to find a Single Malt of this Distillery other than the 10 Years bottled by Gordon & MacPhail that I'm reviewing today. There's not much to say about this Malt I'm afraid. It's a simple entry Speysider without any highs or lows. But at around US$ 40, the Price/Quality ratio is quite good. Nice for beginning Whisky drinkers but too simple for advanced Malt fans. 
Related image

=================================================


Whisky Review # 667

Country: Scotland
Region: Speyside
Brand: Glen Grant 1990
Bottled by: Gordon & MacPhail
Type: Single Malt Whisky
Age: 17 Years
Alcohol By Volume (ABV): 40%
Maturation: Bourbon casks  
Chill Filtration: No    
Buying Advice:  😐 Neutral. Simple Speyside Malt with Good P/Q ratio.

Colour: Light Golden (Natural Colour)

Nose: Light. In a Blind Tasting I wouldn't have given this Malt seventeen years. It smells Younger and still quite Fresh. Good but not overly active Bourbon casks. This Glen Grant is mildly Sweet, Fruity and Floral on the Nose. I find Sweet Barley, Buttered Toast, Vanilla, Caramel, Heather-Honey, Raisins, Red Apple, Peach, Ripe Banana, Pineapple, Nectarine, Citrus, Grass, Milk Chocolate, Saw Dust, Wax, Floral Soap and traces of Resin, Ginger and Aniseed.   

Palate: Creamy but Thin at the same time. I find Sweet Malt, Caramel, Toffee, Golden Syrup, Buttered Toast, Vanilla, Grass, Hay, Hazelnut, Red Apple, Pear, Citrus, Nectarine, Charred Oak, Milk Chocolate, Fresh Herbs, Pepper, Ginger, Aniseed, Licorice, Menthol and Cinnamon.      

Finish: Rather Short and on the Thin side. Sugary Sweet on the one hand  but with some Bitter and Sour notes toward the Medium-Dry end. I find Sweet Malt, Caramel, Vanilla, Golden Syrup, Toffee, Nectarine, Citrus, Hazelnuts, Charred Oak, Sugared Tea, Licorice, Menthol, Pepper, Cinnamon, Ginger, Nutmeg and a bit of Cocoa Powder.

Rating: 80     

Nose: 21 - Taste: 20 - Finish: 19 - Overall: 20   

Conclusion

This Glen Grant might be difficult to find but it's not at all expensive for its age. I have seen prices at around US$ 40. Excellent Price/Quality ratio at this price level. Like the Miltonduff I described above, this Glen Grant is a Light and Thin Entry Speysider. It's not at all bad but there's not too much of interest going on either. To be used as an Aperitif on a hot summer day. Cheers!


=================================================
Drinking Advice:
Due to the fact that I merely had small samples at my disposal, I only Nosed and Tasted these four Single Malts neat.

Jan van den Ende                                                              December 11, 2017

Glenmorangie The Taghta Review


“Not My Chosen One”

Whisky Review # 663

Country: Scotland
Region: Northern Highlands
Brand: Glenmorangie The Taghta (Cask Master Selection) 
Type: Single Malt Whisky
Age: NAS
Alcohol By Volume (ABV): 46%
Maturation: Bourbon Casks with Manzanilla Cask Finish
Chill Filtration: No     
Price Range: US Dollars 110-140 (December 2017). Discontinued!
Buying Advice: 😏 Too expensive. Go for the Original 10 Years instead!  

Colour: Golden Amber (Artificially Coloured)

Nose: Quite Light. On the Thin side actually. I pick up some Sulphur as well but it stays within limits. On the Nose, the Taghta is basically Sweet but there are some Sour and Meaty notes as well. Medium Sherry cask influence. Not more than a year I think. I find Malted Cereals, Toffee, Salted Caramel, Butterscotch, Vanilla, Nuts, Honey, Straw, Grass, Wax, Dried Fruit like Raisins, Sultanas, Banana and Apricot and traces of Nutmeg, Clove, Cinnamon, Yogurt topped with Unripe Strawberries, Orange Flavoured Milk Chocolate, Tinned Pineapple in Heavy Syrup and Leather. The Alcohol is not yet fully integrated.

Palate: The Delivery is okay thanks to the adequate ABV. Bitter-Sweet and Sour notes fight each other constantly. There's no real Harmony here. I find Toasted Cereals, Toffee, Brown Sugar, Salted Caramel, Honey, Salted Nuts, Dried Fruit like Raisins, Sultanas and Apricot, Strawberry Flavoured Yogurt, Apple, Orange Flavoured Chocolate, Lemon Peel, Grapefruit Juice, Pepper, Ginger, Cinnamon, Charred Oak and traces of Leather and Sulphur. It's a relatively Young Whisky and it shows.


Finish: Middle-Long. Sweet at first but Sour, Tannic and Bitter notes develop towards the Dry end. I find Toasted Cereals, Toffee, Salted Caramel, Dried Fruit like Raisins, Sultanas and Apricot, Salted Nuts, Honey, Orange Flavoured Chocolate,  Grapefruit, Lemon, Apple, Herbs, Pepper, Ginger and Clove. Traces of Leather, Charred Oak,  Dark Greek Olives, Strawberry Flavoured Yogurt and Sulphur.    

Drinking Advice:
I added a little Water and the Oranges shine even more on the Nose. It doesn't do a lot else though. Raisins and Oranges develop on the Palate as well. You can certainly experiment with a few drops of Water at a time.

Rating: 83.5  

Nose: 20.5 - Taste: 21 - Finish: 21 - Overall: 21

Image result for glenmorangie the taghta

General Remarks:

🏣   The Distillery and Today's Whisky:

The production at this Tain based Distillery started in November 1849. By the end of the 1930's the McDonald family took control of Glenmorangie. They only sold the distillery to Vuitton/Moet Hennessy in 2004. Since 1994, Glenmorangie has been very actively experimenting with different Wood Finishes. The current core range includes the Original 10 Years, the 18 years, the Signet and three 12 Year old Wood Finishes i.e. the Quinta Ruban (Port), the Lasanta (Sherry) and the Nectar d' Or (Sauternes). In the last years however, Glenmorangie launched a large number of Special editions and Travel Retail specials. Currently, around 5,5 million litres of Spirit are produced. We visited the distillery in May 2017. The whole place looks impeccable and the Still House (Cathedral), VC and Shop are a true feast to the eye. It's almost a bit too polished for my taste. It's really the complete opposite of a visit to Springbank in Campbeltown. And, to be honest, I prefer the latter!

The Taghta (pronounced as Tuh-Tah) is Gaelic for "The Chosen One". A perfect name for the first Crowd-Managed Single Malt. The Name, the Label Design and the Finishing Cask were chosen by the Cask Masters, a group of loyal distillery fans. It was launched in 2013 as a limited edition and a total of 12.000 bottles was released. Many of those bottles of course went to those who helped create this Single Malt.

Visit May 2017

🍷  The Spirit 

The distillery operates six pairs of Stills, beautifully lined up in the Cathedral Still House. The Lyne arms are partly straight or with a slightly upwards angle. The stills are the tallest ones in Scotland. They produce a Sweet, light-bodied spirit with Floral, Nutty and Citrus notes. Water is sourced from the Tarlogie Spring.

Visit May 2017(Not a Cask but certainly a well-matured "Vehicle")

🌲  The Wood:

The Taghta was firstly matured in Ex-Bourbon casks for a number of years as is standard procedure at Glenmorangie. The spirit then received a Finish in Ex-Manzanilla Sherry casks from the Bodega Alegro Sanlucar de Barrameda. The Manzanilla is in fact a Fino Sherry produced in and around Sanlucar. As this town is closer to the sea than Jerez, the Manzanilla from Sanlucar usually has some salty tones. 

Drinking Experience: Good but nothing special.

Conclusion: The Taghta is not a bad Glenmorangie and the Salty notes do set it apart from other limited editions as presented by this Highland Distillery. On the other hand I can't deny the fact that we are talking about a relatively young whisky here. Probably around 8 years + the additional Manzanilla Finish. So in fact it's basically a slightly younger Original 10 Years with a fancy Finish. That's okay of course but for the fact that you pay double or even triple the price of the 10 Years. And that does not make sense. The Taghta is a nice initiative but it is overpriced for what it offers. Something we encounter too often in today's Single Malt market. So while the Taghta is okay I can't recommend buying a full bottle. I've said it before and I'll say it again: If you like  young Glenmorangie you are perfectly okay with the Original 10 Years!

Jan van den Ende                                                               December 7, 2017

Visit May 2017