Showing posts with label Tasting Notes. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Tasting Notes. Show all posts

Wild Turkey American Honey Review


“A Taste of Honey”

Whisky Review # 855

Country: USA
Brand: Wild Turkey American Honey
Type: Bourbon With Infused Flavour
Age: NAS
Alcohol By Volume (ABV): 35.5%
Maturation: American Oak
Chill Filtration: Yes
Sample provided by Derek from the USA. Many Thanks!
Price Range: US$ 22-27 (January 2020)
Price/Quality Ratio: Good
Buying Advice: 😐Too Sweet for me but I can imagine people loving it with ice

Colour: Golden Sunlight (Artificially Coloured)

Nose:

The first thing I notice is that, unlike the Bushmills Honey I tasted recently, the American Honey Aromas remind me of a Liqueur rather than a Whisk(e)y. The main drivers are Honey, Orange and Vanilla. It's quite Sweet as expected. The Alcohol is noticeable despite the low ABV.

Main Aromas:

Sweet Cereals, Buttered Toast, Vanilla, Honey, Orange (Gran Marnier), Pepper, Cinnamon and Mint.
    
Supportive Aroma Accents:

Caramel, Butterscotch, Lemon, Glue, Leather, Tobacco, Nutmeg, Charred Oak and Cardamom.

Image result for wild turkey american honey

Palate:

Mellow and Sweet with a little Bitterness behind it all. It's hard to find Bourbon behind the thick Honey/Orange Sweetness.

Main Flavours:

Sweet Cereals, Honey, Golden Syrup, Vanilla, Orange, Lemon, Butter, Pepper, Cinnamon and Mint.

Supportive Flavour Accents:

Butterscotch, Caramel, Cherry Flavoured Cough Pastilles, Oak, Leather, Nutmeg, Cloves, Cardamom, Tobacco and Black Tea.

Finish:

Medium-Long although the Honey stays around even longer. It's very Sweet & it closely follows Nose and Palate. A little Orange-like Bitterness towards the end. I find Sweet Cereals, Honey, Syrup, Vanilla, Caramel, Cherry-Flavoured Cough Pastilles, Orange, Lemon, Oak, Butter, Pepper, Cinnamon, Ginger, Cardamom and Mint.

Drinking Advice:

No need to add Water to this Liqueur. It's best enjoyed over Ice!

Rating: 76.5

Nose: 20 - Taste: 19 - Finish: 18.5 - Overall: 19

Drinking Experience Neat: Okay/Good

Conclusion:

Wild Turkey Bourbon is being produced in the town of Lawrenceburg Kentucky. Nowadays the Brand is owned by the Campari Group. The distillery produces the 81 Proof, the 101 Proof, the Single Barrel Kentucky Spirit at 101 Proof, Russell's Reserve 10 Years named after Master Distiller Jimmy Russell, Rare Breed a blend of 6, 8 and 12 old Wild Turkey at 108.4 Proof, a Rye Whiskey with 65% Rye, 23 % Corn and 12% Barley and a Honey Liqueur by the name of American Honey. The latter is a mix of Wild Turkey Bourbon and natural Honey.

The Honey Liqueur has been around since 1978 but was revived in 2006 when the interest for this type of Liqueur started to pick up. I've tasted a couple of them in the meantime and although there are significant differences between them they have one thing in common. They are way too Sweet to enjoy Neat and they all are enjoyed best over Ice. The Wild Turkey American Honey is a very Sweet Liqueur and has little to do with Whisky or Bourbon. The Honey is its main asset as it smells and tastes more natural than the Jack Daniel Honey. These Whisky-Liqueurs are not really my kind of thing but I can see that lots of people will enjoy this on a warm evening over lots of Ice.

Cheers!

Jan van den Ende                                                                 January 20, 2020

Teeling Single Malt Review



“Hot Fun in the Summertime”

Whisky Review # 854

Country: Ireland
Brand: Teeling Single Malt
Crafted and Bottled by: The Teeling Whiskey Company, Dublin
Distilled at: Cooley
Type: Single Malt Irish Whiskey
Age: NAS
Alcohol By Volume (ABV): 46%
Maturation: Sherry, Port, Madeira, White Burgundy, Cabernet Sauvignion casks
Chill Filtration: No
Price Range: US$ 40-50 (January 2020)
Price/Quality Ratio: Borderline Okay.
Buying Advice: 😒It's okay I guess but the Alcohol really annoys!

Colour: Golden Sunlight (Perhaps slightly Artificially Coloured)

Nose:

Be careful not to put your Nose in the middle of the glass right away or you will get a waft of Alcohol right up your nostrils. Always look for the rim of the glass. This Teeling is a mix of Sweet and Sour Aromas and it feels quite Young despite the fact that it is said to contain some old Whiskey as well. But not too much if you ask me. It's Fruity, Grassy and well....Green. It's not bad though although the Alcohol is a nuisance.

Main Aromas:

Sweet Malt, Cake with a dollop of Fresh Cream, Vanilla, Grass, Dough, Unripe Banana, Pineapple, Lemon, Green Fresh Herbs, Sour Berries, Dusty Oak, White Chocolate, Nectarine, Apple and Cinnamon.
    
Supportive Aroma Accents:

Honey-Melon, Caramel, Toffee, Coconut, Dried Fruit like Plums, Apricot, Raisins and Figs, Peach, Caffe Latte, White Wine, Hazelnuts and a hint of Varnish.

Image result for teeling whiskey trinity pack

Palate:

The first thing that hits you is the Alcohol. It's a pity as it negatively impacts the Nosing and Tasting pleasure. This Teeling Malt is not at all fully matured and it screams so in every department. On the Palate this Single Malt shows a mix of Sweet and Sour Flavours. The influence of the different Wine casks is actually a little limited so I will assume that most of the Spirit used for this vatted Malt matured in Refill casks and not for an awful long time.

Main Flavours:

Sweet Barley, Vanilla, Yeast, Dough, Wax, Grass, Straw, Cake with Cream and Strawberries, Unripe Banana, Apple, Pineapple, Nectarine, Fresh Green Herbs, Cinnamon, Pepper, Ginger and Charred Oak. 

Supportive Flavour Accents:

Honey-Melon, Caramel, Coconut, Dried Fruit (Plums, Apricot, Raisins), Nutmeg, Cloves, Citrus Fruit, Caffe Latte and White Chocolate.

Finish:

Sweet, Short, Sour and Hot. The Alcohol spoils the fun again. A slight Bitterness towards the Dry end. This is a Young Malt on average. I find Malted Cereals, Buttered Toast, Yeast, Dough, Vanilla, Grass, Straw, Honey, Caramel, Cake with Cream & Strawberries, Green Vegetables, Nectarine, Cherry-Menthol Flavoured Cough Pastilles, Nectarine, Lemon, Orange, Herbal Tea, Pepper, Nutmeg, Clove, Cinnamon, Ginger and Charred Oak. Something Mineral or Metallic as well.

Drinking Advice:

I added a bit of Water but it hardly slows down the Alcohol. It only helps a bit but I advise you to add a few drops even if it does not really change the overall Aroma and Flavour profile. It gains a bit more Citrus perhaps.

Rating: 82

Nose: 21 - Taste: 20.5 - Finish: 20 - Overall: 20.5

Drinking Experience Neat: Okay/Good

Conclusion:

In 1989, John Teeling started the Cooley Distillery together with his sons Jack and Stephen. John sold the distillery in 2011 to Beam-Suntory. Part of the agreement was that Teeling retained 16.000 casks of ageing Cooley Whiskey. In 2012, Jack and Stephen founded Teeling Whiskey Company, bottling the Cooley casks under the Teeling label. Subsequently they founded a new distillery in the year 2015 in Dublin but also continue to bottle the sourced Cooley casks that have aged sufficiently.

The Single Malt is part of the Teeling Trinity range that also includes the Small Batch and the Single Grain. It contains both young and older Whiskey with the oldest being distilled in 1991. The Maturation in 5 different types of wine casks in unique for Irish Whiskey. It sounds quite interesting but it fails to deliver in my opinion. There are two main reasons for that. The first is the relative young average age of the spirits in this vatted Malt and the second one is the Alcohol. The ABV is not absurdly high but somehow the young Spirit can't cope with it. I am almost certain this Teeling could be a great Whiskey if sufficiently matured and reinforced by using more First-Fill casks. As it is you probably best enjoy it over Ice or in a cocktail on a warm summer day.

Cheers!

Jan van den Ende                                                                January 17, 2020

Fettercairn 12 Years Review - Fettercairn 12 Years PX Review



“You Ain’t Seen Nothing Yet”

Whisky Review # 852

Country: Scotland
Region: Eastern Highlands
Brand: Fettercairn
Type: Single Malt Scotch Whisky
Age: 12 Years
Alcohol By Volume (ABV): 40%
Maturation: Ex-Bourbon casks
Chill Filtration: Yes
Price Range: US$ 45-55  (January 2020)
Price/Quality Ratio: Borderline okay.
Buying Advice: 😒Not really bad but Unbalanced and Thin. Try a sample first!

Colour: Golden (Artificially Coloured)


Nose:

As so often, please give this Fettercairn sufficient time in the glass as it opens quite slowly. The Nose is Sweet, Buttery, Malty and slightly Meaty. A bit of Fruit as well. I find it a little on the Thin side. The Alcohol is noticeable. An okay Nose I suppose but you don't have to wake me up for it!

Main Aromas:

Toasted and Malted Sweet Barley, Butter Biscuits (Butterkekse), Vanilla, Yeast, Tutti-Frutti Candies, Charred Pineapple, Banana Ice Cream, Milk Chocolate and Citrus Peel.

Supportive Aroma Accents:

Heather-Honey, Caramel, Toffee, Charred Oak, mildly Bitter Almonds, Marzipan, Forrest after a Rain Shower, Apple, Pear, Apricot or Nectarine, Caffe Latte, Sour Yogurt and Wet Paper.



Palate:

The delivery is on the Thin side. This Fettercairn really could do with a higher ABV. A Mix of Bitter, Sweet and Sour notes. Not quite my thing!

Main Flavours:

Malted and Toasted Barley, Burnt Toast, Yeast, Banana-Flavoured Yogurt, Oak Char, Charred Pineapple, Caffe Latte, Milk Chocolate, Bitter Herbs, Cinnamon, Pepper, Cloves and Menthol.

Supportive Flavour Accents:

Heather-Honey, Vanilla, Caramel, Sour Berries, Sour Orange-Juice, Dried Fruit, Damp Wine Cellar, Almonds and Baked Apples sprinkled with Nutmeg.



Finish:

Short/Medium-Long, Thin, Malty, Yeasty, Meaty and Spicy. I find Malted/Toasted Barley, Toffee, Caramel, Vanilla, Charred Pineapple, Banana-Flavoured Yogurt, Bitter Herbs, Charred Oak, CaffeLatte, Milk Chocolate, Almonds, Heather-Honey, Red Apple, Dried Fruit, Pepper, Cinnamon, Nutmeg, Ginger & Menthol. A bit of Floral Perfume after a while.

Drinking Advice:

Due to the small size of the sample I only tasted this Fettercairn neat. I would imagine that added Water is not required. It's Thin enough as it is.

Rating: 78

Nose: 20.5  - Taste: 19.5 - Finish: 19 - Overall: 19.5



Drinking Experience Neat: Okay at best.

Conclusion:

The Fettercairn Distillery was founded in 1824 by Sir Alexander Ramsay and is located in Fettercairn, Laurencekirk, Kincardineshire in the Eastern Highlands. It changed hands many times in the past but mainly belonged to Whyte & MacKay that was bought by Emperador Inc. in 2015. The two pairs of stills produce around 1,5 million litres of Alcohol per year. The core range exists of the 12, 28, 40 and 50 Years.

The new core range was launched in 2018 to put Fettercairn back on the Single malt map. As known, this Malt is mainly used for the Whyte & MacKay blends. I must admit that this 12 Year old does not do a lot for me. Lots of Barley, Yeast, Butter and Dairy. A rather unbalanced mix of Sweet, Bitter, Sour & Spicy notes. A higher ABV could certainly help out and 43% should be possible without a significant price increase. I already think it's expensive for a relatively unknown Single Malt distillery. We visited Fettercairn in May 2019 and it's certainly well-worth the effort of getting there. Wonderful small and picturesque distillery. The visitor accommodations are still rather primitive but the Tour is quite nice.



=================================================

Whisky Review # 853

Country: Scotland
Region: Eastern Highlands
Brand: Fettercairn Pedro Ximenez Sherry Cask Edition
Type: Single Malt Scotch Whisky
Age: 12 Years
Alcohol By Volume (ABV): 40%
Maturation: Ex-Bourbon casks with a fairly long finish in PX Sherry casks
Chill Filtration: Yes
Price Range: Around US$ 70 (January 2020)
Price/Quality Ratio: 👎Way too expensive for what it offers
Buying Advice: 😞Negative. The Nose is okay but Palate/Finish are too Thin.

Colour: Amber (Artificially Coloured)

Nose:

Rather than repeating the Aromas and Flavours already mentioned above I will simply look at the extra or different notes that come with the PX Finish. The Nose remains on the Thin side but Dark Red Fruit and Dried Fruit notes appear. The Alcohol seems better integrated although I can't really explain that. This is more mainstream than the 12 Years that has a few funky sides.

Extra Main Aromas:

Dried Fruit (Raisins, Sultanas, Apricots, Plums), Rose Water & stronger Orange Aromas.
    
Extra Supportive Aroma Accents:

Grapes, Damp Cellar, Red Berries, Cloves and Nutella.



Palate:

Is this a Single Malt Whisky? It's way too Thin and Watery for my sake. It's a bit Softer than the regular 12 years but certainly not better. There's some extra Red Fruit but it's so Thin it feels artificial. This PX Finish didn't work out very well.

Extra Main Flavours:

Damp Wood, Rose Water and Papaya.

Extra Supportive Flavour Accents:

Floral Perfume, Cherry-Flavoured Candies and Licorice.



Finish:

Short, very Thin, almost watery and Bitter-Sweet. This almost reminds me of a Watery Rose Water or watered down Floral Perfume. Hints of Milk Chocolate, Red Fruit, Damp Wood, Ginger and Licorice. Utterly forgettable!

Drinking Advice:

Due to the small size of the sample I only tasted this Fettercairn neat. I would imagine that added Water is not required. It's Thin enough as it is.

Rating: 73

Nose: 20 - Taste: 18 - Finish: 17 - Overall: 18



Drinking Experience Neat: Below Average.

Conclusion:

The 12 Years PX Finish was released in 2019 and destined for the Travel Retail sector. It's basically a standard Fettercairn Single Malt with a quite lengthy PX cask Finish. I'm not quite sure how long it was finished as sources mention as low as 6 months and as long as 2 years. The truth probably lies somewhere in the middle as the PX influence is noticeable but not overly strong.

As you can read above, I don't think that this PX Finish Edition worked out well. It misses Strength and Character. A higher ABV and more active PX casks could do wonders here. As it is, I feel that this is not the way forward for this beautiful distillery. Both the 12 Years and in particular this PX Finish can't compete Aroma and Flavour wise with the Highland competition. And they are too expensive for what they offer. If you want to get away from your Blended Whisky image you have to come up with a solid, flavourful entry Malt at an acceptable price level and build your way forward from there. I wish Fettercairn all the best and hope the new owners will take this next step.

Cheers!

Jan van den Ende                                                               January 14, 2020

All Pictures were taken during our visit in May 2019

Rozelieures Fume Collection Review


“L’Important c’est la Rose”  

Whisky Review # 851

Country: France
Brand: Rozelieures (Fume Collection)
Type: Single Malt Whisky
Age: NAS (Said to be 8 Years)
Alcohol By Volume (ABV): 46%
Maturation: Ex- Fino Sherry Oak
Chill Filtration: Yes
Price: Around US$ 60-70 (January 2020)
Sample provided by Mauricio from Brazil. Many Thanks!
Price/Quality Ratio: Borderline Okay
Buying Advice: 😐It's nice to sample but I wouldn't buy a full bottle.

Colour: Amber (Possibly Original Colour)

Nose:

Please give this Rozelieures sufficient time in the glass before Nosing as it opens quite slowly. It's a quite Young Whisky and there's still a bit New Make feel to it although at the same time it's not overly Fruity. There's a subtle Smoke Aroma around. The Alcohol is quite noticeable though. The Sherry influence is limited and I would assume that Refill casks have been used for maturation. It's not at all bad for a Young Whisky but it is a bit underwhelming.

Main Aromas:

Slightly Burnt Buttered Toast, Yeast, Dough, Malted and Toasted Barley, Sweet Dried Fruit like Sultanas and Raisins, Hay, Grapefruit, Sour Berries & Oak Char.
    
Supportive Aroma Accents:

Honey, Caramel, Vanilla, Butterscotch, Pancakes with Syrup, Nuts & Nutshells, Lemon, Orange, Pear, Mint, Wet Stones, Espresso and a hint of Plastic/Rubber.

Picture Credit: Rozelieures

Palate:

Young and on the Thin side. A mix of Sweet, Bitter and Sour notes. The Alcohol is rather present. Quite Spicy! The Earthy Peat-Smoke is there but remains in the background. It's a nice touch though.

Main Flavours:

Malted and Toasted Barley, Burnt Toast, Yeast, Orange and Lemon, Grapefruit, Red Grapes, Green Apple, Dirty Earth, Nuts and Nutshells, Oak Char, Leather, Pepper, Cardamom, Ginger, Aniseed and Soot.

Supportive Flavour Accents:

Honey, Vanilla, Caramel, Syrup, Hay, Pear, Cognac, Glue, Espresso & Rubber.  

Finish:

Short/Middle-Long. Quite Sweet at first but with a few Bitter and Sour notes towards the very Dry end. The Spicy Alcohol kicks around a bit. I find Toasted and Malted Barley, Burnt Toast, Vanilla, Cocoa Powder, Dirty Earth, Orange & Lemon Peel, Grapefruit, Green Apple, Unripe Pear, Oak Char, Menthol, Pepper, Cardamom, Ginger, Aniseed, Cumin, Cognac, Earthy Smoke and Soot.

Drinking Advice:

I added a bit of Water and that helps to control the Alcohol a bit on the Nose. Some Fruit coming through (Apricot). Palate and Finish don't improve though. I advise you to sip it neat.

Rating: 82

Nose: 20.5  - Taste: 20.5  - Finish: 20.5  - Overall: 20.5

Drinking Experience Neat: Good

Conclusion:

The Distillery Grallet-Dupic is located in the village of Rozelieures (Lorraine) and was founded in 1860 by Michel Grallet. This family-owned business has been distilling for more than 150 years and grows its own Barley. It started producing Eau de Vie but since 2002 it also distills Whisky. It's the first French distillery that works with lightly peated Malts. All Whiskies produced are Single Malts and Double-Distilled. The whole process of distilling to bottling is done at the farm.

It's one of the better French Whiskies I have tasted to date. It's a pity that it's bottled at such a relative Young age. I would really love to try a well-matured Whisky from this distillery The potential is there I feel but it's not fully exploited (yet). As it is, the Alcohol is a bit too dominant and spoils part of the fun. I kinda like this Spice mixture though. Not so strange as I am a big fan of Indian food! 

Cheers!

Jan van den Ende                                                                 January 10, 2020

Distillerie ROzelieures
Picture Credit: Rozelieures

Tyrconnell 15 Years Reviews


“Last of 2019 But Not Least” 

Whisky Review # 850

Country: Ireland
Brand: Tyrconnell
Distilled at: Cooley
Type: Single Malt Single Cask Irish Whiskey - Cask #3178/92
Age: 15 Years
Alcohol By Volume (ABV): 46%
Maturation: Ex- Bourbon cask
Chill Filtration:No
Price: Around US$ 100 (December 2019)
Price/Quality Ratio: Okay.
Buying Advice: 😔It's nice but perhaps a little too expensive for what it offers.

Colour: Pale Gold/Straw (Natural Colour)

Nose:

Light, Sweet, Floral, Fruity and Buttery. The Alcohol is present so be sure not to poke your nose in the middle of the Glass right away. Slowly find your way around the edges. This will certainly enhance your Nosing experience. There's nothing really special going on here but what you get is sufficiently pleasant.

Main Aromas:

Sweet Malted Barley, Butter Kekse (German Butter Biscuits), Vanilla, Banana-Flavoured Yogurt, Green Apple, Pear, Gooseberry and Fresh Mint.
    
Supportive Aroma Accents:

Honey, Caramel, Toast, Toffee, Raisins, Herbal Tea, Coconut, Lemon, Cinnamon, Toasted Oak, Grass and Orange Juice.



Palate:

Bitter-Sweet and Creamy. It's nice but a little more Edgy than the Nose would suggest. Still I find lots of Creamy Barley, Fresh Fruit and a few Spices and Herbs.

Main Flavours:

Malted Barley, Butter Biscuits, Vanilla, Grass, Green Apple, Pear, Toasted Oak, Plum, Cinnamon, Mint Tea and Aniseed.    

Supportive Flavour Accents:

Honey, Caramel, Almonds, Nougat, Straw, Lemon, Gooseberry, Toffee, Banana-Flavoured Yogurt, Resin, Licorice and Pepper.   

Finish:

Middle-Long, Creamy, Oily & Sweet with an increasing Bitterness towards the Medium-Dry/Dry end. The Alcohol certainly remains noticeable throughout. In the Finish it reminds me a bit of Slivovitz, the East-European Plum Liqueur. I find Malted Barley, Vanilla, Toffee, Butter Biscuits, Hay & Grass, Cocoa Powder, Plum, Lemon, Gooseberry, Green Apple, Banana, Honey, Licorice, Mint and Pepper.  

Drinking Advice:

I added a bit of Water and that calms down the Alcohol. But other than that it does not improve this Tyrconnell. Better sip it neat.

Rating: 85 

Nose: 22 - Taste: 21 - Finish: 21 - Overall: 21 

Drinking Experience Neat: Good

Conclusion:

Tyrconnell is the name of an Irish race horse that won the Irish Derby in 1876 at 100-1 odds. The original distillery was founded in 1820 by Alexander Stuart but closed in 1925. The brand name was bought and reintroduced by the Cooley Distillery in 1988.

This is certainly one of the more pleasant Irish Whiskies I've tasted so far. It's pretty straightforward but the overall impression is positive. The Nose is the best part in my opinion. Palate and Finish can't quit maintain the same level but nevertheless this is a solid Tyrconnell. 


I would like to wish all my readers and their families a very Happy, Healthy and Malty 2020 and look forward to welcome you back with Review # 851 in early January!

Cheers!

Jan van den Ende                                                              December 27, 2019

West Cork Blended Whiskey Review - West Cork 10 Years Review


“West Cork Story”

Whisky Review # 847

Country: Ireland
Brand: West Cork
Distilled at: Probably a mix of own-distilled and sourced Whiskey
Type: Blended Irish Whiskey
Age: NAS
Alcohol By Volume (ABV): 40%
Maturation: Mix of First-Fill and Refill Ex-Bourbon casks
Chill Filtration: Yes
Price Range: US$ 22-34 (December 2019)
Price/Quality Ratio: 😐Okay at around $ 20 (For mixing purposes only).
Buying Advice: 👎There are better and cheaper ways to get drunk.

Colour: Light Gold (Natural Colour)

Nose:

Light, Young, Thin and Hot. The Grain Alcohol dominates. It's close to Vodka but for some Sweet Artificial Fruit Aromas.

Main Aromas:

Buttered Toast, Sugared Breakfast Cereals, Toffee, Vanilla, Wheat Biscuits, Nuts and Nut Shells, Straw, Charred Refill-Oak, Paint-Thinner and Glue.
    
Supportive Aroma Accents:

Honey, Dried Fruit like Apricot or Nectarine, Artificially Flavoured Candies (Pear, Green Apple, Cherry), Grass, Nail Remover, Fuel and Pepper.


Palate:

Young, Light, Thin, Bitter-Sweet and Hot. The Grain Alcohol is overwhelming.

Main Flavours:

Sugared Breakfast Cereals, Caramel, Wheat Biscuits, Nuts and Nutshells, Hay, Refill Oak, Artificially Flavoured Fruit Candies (Green Apple, Pear, Cherry), Char and Pepper.

Supportive Flavour Accents:

Honey, Vanilla, Toasted Malt, Butterscotch, Toffee, Grass, Apricot-filled Pastry, Nutmeg, Compost Pile, Grapefruit Juice, Lemon, Licorice and Menthol.

Finish:

Short/Middle-Long, Sugary Sweet, Hot, Young and Thin. The Alcohol bites a bit towards the end. I find Sugared Breakfast Cereals, Buttered Toast, Caramel, Vanilla, Honey, Wheat Biscuits, Raisins, Fruit Candies with Artificial Fruit Aromas such as Pear, Cherry & Green Apple, Honey, Paint Thinner, Pepper, Wet Rocks, Refill Oak, Nutmeg, Cloves, Vodka, Gas Station, Nut Shells, Menthol and a little hint of White Chocolate.

Drinking Advice:

Added Water helps to kill the fierce Alcohol somewhat but you're basically left with a Flavoured Vodka. This is for mixing at best.

Rating: 70.5

Nose: 17.5 - Taste: 18 - Finish: 17.5  - Overall: 17.5

Drinking Experience Neat: Below Average.

Conclusion:

West Cork Distillers was founded by John O'Connell, Dennis McCarthy and Ger McCarthy in 2004 in Union Hall. It moved to Skibbereen (County Cork) in 2013. It offers Malt and Grain (Wheat) Whiskey as well as Gin, Vodka and Liqueurs.

The West Cork Blended Whiskey contains 75% Grain Whiskey (Wheat) and 25% Malted Barley. This is slightly below your average Blend. You can notice that at once as the neutral Grain Alcohol dominates even more than usual in Blends. It is very difficult to say anything positive about this West Cork. It's too Young, too Harsh, too Hot and too Thin. It's not suitable for sipping and you will drown it over ice. That leaves mixing but it's so much more flavorful to get drunk on Bourbon and Coca Cola. I honestly can't recommend this Blended West Cork.

Cheers!

=========================================================================================================


Whisky Review # 848

Country: Ireland
Brand: West Cork
Distilled at: Undisclosed. Sourced.
Type: Single Malt Irish Whiskey
Age: 10 Years
Alcohol By Volume (ABV): 40%
Maturation: Ex-Bourbon casks
Chill Filtration: Probably not
Price Range: US$ 35-45 (December 2019)
Price/Quality Ratio: 👍Okay.
Buying Advice: 😐Not bad but a bit Plain and Thin on the Palate. 

Colour: Light Golden (Natural Colour)

Nose:

This is much more pleasant on the Nose. Soft, Sweet, Waxy, Grassy, Fruity and without the very irritating sharpness of the Grain Alcohol. Very Clean and Fresh without any off-notes.

Main Aromas:

Malted Barley, Vanilla, Fresh Fruit like Apples, Pears, Bananas, Pineapples and Melons, Grass, Straw, Charred Oak, Nougat, Marzipan, Cinnamon and Mint.
    
Supportive Aroma Accents:

Buttered Toast, Honey, Toffee, White Wine, Yeast, Plum Liqueur, Orange Peel, Lemon, Ginger and White Chocolate.


Palate:

It's a pity that Palate and Finish can't totally bring what the Nose promises. The Palate is Light, Clean and Fresh but misses the nice Fresh Fruit Aromas. The Fruit is still there but there's a more Artificial touch to it. A higher ABV would have been helpful here.

Main Flavours:

Toasted and Malted Barley, Vanilla, Artificial Flavoured Fruit Candies like Apple, Pear, Melon, Cherry and Banana, Tart Lemon, Charred Oak, Cinnamon, Nougat and Aniseed.

Supportive Flavour Accents:

Buttered Toast, Caramel, Honey, Plum Liqueur, Orange Peel, Caffe Latte, Bounty Candy Bars, Mint, Pepper and Ginger.

Finish:

Short, Light and on the Thin side. The standard ABV of 40% is simply too low to give this West Cork Malt sufficient body. A light Bitterness pops up towards the end on account of the (Re-fill) Oak. I find Toasted and Malted Barley, Caramel, Toffee, Vanilla, Buttered Toast, Honey, Charred Oak, Artificially Flavoured Fruit Candies like Apple, Pear, Melon & Banana, Caffe Latte, Citrus Peel, Cinnamon, Ginger, Aniseed, Almonds and Nougat.

Drinking Advice:

Added Water kills this West Cork so please sip it neat.

Rating: 79.5

Nose: 21 - Taste: 19.5 - Finish: 19 - Overall: 20

Drinking Experience Neat: Okay/Good

Conclusion:

The West Cork 10 Years is an honest Single Malt given its price-level. There's nothing special to it but there's nothing that will put you off as well. The Nose is actually quite pleasant but Palate and Finish are a bit on the Thin side because of the standard ABV. I would also have loved to see the Fresh Fruit in the Nose to continue as such on the Palate and in the Finish but it was not to be. Still, at around US$ 35 you can't go wrong with this 10 Year old. Please don't add Water though!

This was my first encounter with the West Cork Brand. The two expressions I tasted today were relatively cheap and therefore my expectations were quite limited. I was quietly surprised by the 10 Years as it presents a decent Price to Quality ratio. I did not like the Blend though. I wouldn't even consider it for mixing as there are better and cheaper options around.

Cheers!

Jan van den Ende                                                              December 19, 2019