Showing posts with label Single Malt Scotch Whisky Review. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Single Malt Scotch Whisky Review. Show all posts

Wemyss Malts Barbeque Sauce 1990 (18 Years) Review - Wemyss Malts Sea Smoke 1984 (24 Years) Review


“Wemyss Malts Special” 

Introduction:

Most of you know that I mainly use samples and miniatures when preparing my Reviews. I usually buy these in Holland and sometimes in Germany or the UK. Sometimes I receive samples from friends or readers or independent bottlers. In only two cases I received a few samples directly from distilleries. When planning my reviews for the next months I always try to give attention to all Scottish Whisky regions as well as other Whisky/Whiskey/Bourbon producing regions all over the world with special attention to the USA, Ireland and Japan. And last but not least the blends. At the request of many readers I give preference to more recent expressions. As a result, my backlog of older samples has increased quite a bit. To do justice to those samples I will review them in the format of Specials. These specials will deal with an independent bottler like today or with specific countries, distilleries or regions. The reviews in these Specials will concentrate on the Whisky and won't go into too much details of distilleries, maturation etc. I do hope you will like these Specials just as much as my regular reviews and I look forward to your reactions and suggestions. In today's special I will review two Single Malts released by Wemyss Malts UK, respectively distilled at Mortlach (Speyside) and Caol Ila (Islay). Enjoy!
================================================



Whisky Review # 761

Country: Scotland
Region: Speyside
Brand: Wemyss Malts Barbeque Sauce 1990
Tube sold by: Cigars and Spirits
Distilled at: Mortlach
Type: Single Malt (Single Cask?) Whisky - Bottled August 2008 - 576 Bottles
Age: 18 Years
Alcohol By Volume (ABV): 55% (Around Cask Strength)
Maturation: Ex-Bourbon Cask? (See Colour!)
Chill Filtration: No
Price Range: US$ 80 (August 2018) - Discontinued - Hard to Find
Buying Advice: ๐Ÿ˜‘ It's okay but no more than that. It isnt' worth US$ 80!

Colour:

Copper (Natural Colour). Very dark colour for the Natural Colour/Bourbon Single Cask combination. I have no official explanation for this. Is it a Single Cask? It's very strange that no cask number is mentioned. One Bourbon cask would give around 200 bottles after 18 years. The total of 576 bottles suggests a larger cask or more than 1 cask (Probably three). Is European Oak involved somehow? Was/Were the cask(s) heavily Charred? If anybody knows more please leave a comment in the Comments sector!

Nose:

Mostly Sweet and quite Fatty. A few strange Notes include Compost Heap, Paint Thinner, Driftwood and Metal. The intensity of these off-notes diminishes over time so make sure to give this Mortlach sufficient time in the glass. The Alcohol is noticeable. There are lots of Aroma Accents to be discovered but it's a bit of a mixed bag and I miss Balance and Direction. I would not have recognised this as a Mortlach in a Blind tasting.  

Main Aromas:

Toasted Barley, Buttered Toast, Dough, Biscuits, Apricot Filled Puff Pastry, Old Book Shelves, Roasted Coffee Beans, Compost Heap (including overripe Fruit like Apples and Pears & wasted Vegetables), Mint, Candyfloss and Raw Bacon.

Supportive Aroma Accents:

Vanilla, Caramel, Sugared Almonds, Heather-Honey, Dusty Track, Bitter Orange, Cinnamon, Driftwood, Cigar Box, Paint Thinner/Varnish, Bounty Candy Bars, Slightly Sour White Grapes and Leather.


Palate:

Sweet, quite Dry and slightly Hot with developing Bitter and Sour notes.

Main Flavours:

Toasted Cereals, Salted Caramel, Sour Yellow Plums, Pear, Milk Chocolate, Wet Rocks, Lemon, Pepper, Cinnamon and Menthol.

Supportive Flavour Accents:

Vanilla, Toffee, Grapefruit, Apple, Grappa, Sour Berries, Heather-Honey, Stewed Rhubarb, Dusty Track, Charred Oak, Bitter Orange and Nutmeg.

Finish:

Middle-Long and quite Hot. Sugary Sweet at first but with increasing Bitter - and Sour notes towards the Medium-Dry/Dry end. A Metallic off-note stays with you for a minute or so. I also find Toasted Cereals, Vanilla, Salted Caramel, Charred Oak, Bitter Orange & Grapefruit, Unripe Berries, Lemon, Grappa, Milk Chocolate, Pear,  Wet Rocks, Dusty Track, Pepper, Ginger and Menthol.

Drinking Advice:

I added a few drops of Water and that helps relaxing this Malt a little bit. The overall Aroma/Flavour profile does not change a whole lot but it's easier to enjoy this way. In this case I therefore recommend a few drops of Water.

Rating: 80.5

Nose: 20.5 - Taste: 20 - Finish: 20 - Overall: 20

Drinking Experience:

Okay but confusing and not really Satisfying.

Conclusion:

The Wemyss Family has been involved in the Single Malt business ever since the turn of the 19th century when John Haig built his first distillery on Wemyss land.
Their range of Single Cask Whiskies was conceived with the aim of making them more accessible and understandable. That's why the Wemyss Malts are named after the Aromas and Flavours rather than simply mentioning the Distillery name. A Wemyss tasting panel, lead by Isabella Wemyss and Charlie MacLean have the pleasant task of identifying the casks that will be used for the Blended Malt - or Single Cask range.

This Tasting Session was more like a Wrestling Match. At times I would find an interesting Aroma or Flavour but a few moments later I was punched in the face by some weird off-note. I could have wrestled for hours without the match being declared in favour of one of the extremes. It's a mixed bag of everything and I can't find any Balance and/or Direction. In general I am a fan of the Mortlach distillery but in this specific case I can't relate at all to the malt. I already wrote above that I wouldn't have recognised this Malt as a Mortlach in a Blind Tasting session. The best way to describe my feelings towards this Wemyss expression is that I'm confused. I'm confused about the Colour, the cask or casks, Aromas and Flavours. It's been a while since I encountered such an Unbalanced Malt. Do I recommend it? It's hard to say although luckily for me it will be hard to find as it has been discontinued. I don't think it's worth US$ 80. That's for sure. The rest I'm not very sure about ๐Ÿ˜ต. 

Let's see if the Caol Ila is an easier animal!

=================================================



Whisky Review # 762

Country: Scotland
Region: Islay
Brand: Wemyss Malts Sea Smoke 1984
Tube sold by: Cigars and Spirits
Distilled at: Caol Ila
Type: Single Malt Single Cask Whisky - Bottled August 2008 - 248 Bottles
Age: 24 Years
Alcohol By Volume (ABV): 55% - At or Around Cask Strength
Maturation: Bourbon Cask
Chill Filtration: No
Price Range: US$ 250-275 (August 2018)- Discontinued - Hard to Find
Buying Advice: ๐Ÿ˜‹ What a great Single Malt. Safe buy if you can find it!

Colour:

Golden (Natural Colour).

Nose:

Lovely Mature Islay. The Smoke and Peat are there of course but after 24 years they don't control the procedures anymore but act as a solid base for the other Aromas. Quite a few Medicinal and Farmyard notes. On the Nose this Caol Ila is mainly sweet but a few Sour Aromas develop along the way. Quite nice and Well Balanced.

Main Aromas:

Toasted Barley, Slightly Burnt Toast, Biscuits, Vanilla, a mixture of Clay, Straw and Cow Manure, Iodine, Band-Aid, Brine, Soot, Dirty Earth, Fish and Shellfish on the BBQ, Smoked Bacon, Wet Rocks, Charred Oak, Leather, Sour Apples, Lemon, Blackcurrants, Herbal Tea, Mint, Cinnamon and Pepper.

Supportive Aroma Accents:

Heather-Honey, Salted Butter, Toffee, Tobacco, Rubber, Toasted Almonds, Dusty Track, Grass, Cloves, Milk Chocolate, Tinned Pineapple and Grapefruit.


Palate:

Well Matured Islay Single Malts are among my favourite Whiskies and this is no exception. Very nice interplay between Cask and Spirit. Good ABV. On the Palate this Caol Ila is Bitter-Sweet, Herbal and Fruity. A few nice Sour notes as well for Balance. Good stuff!

Main Flavours:

Toasted Barley, Buttered Toast, Toffee, Grass/Straw, Smoked Fish and Shellfish, Bacon, Soot, Ashes, Iodine, Blackcurrants, Sour Apples, Herbal Tea, Wet Rocks, Charred Oak, Pepper, Mint, Licorice and Aniseed.

Supportive Flavour Accents:

Salted Caramel, Vanilla, Grapefruit, Lemon, Leather, Tobacco, Toasted Almonds, Milk Chocolate, Cinnamon, Nutmeg and Espresso.

Finish:

Quite Long, Bitter-Sweet, Ashy, Oily, Herbal and Dry towards the end. I find Toasted Cereals, Vanilla, Toffee/Caramel, Blackcurrants, Green Apples, Lemon, Grapefruit, Smoked Fish and Shellfish, Bacon, Charred Oak, Ashes, Soot, Iodine, Dirty Earth, Wet Rocks, Salted Butter, Leather, Tobacco, Herbal Tea, Cinnamon, Pepper, Nutmeg, Menthol, Aniseed, Licorice, Chocolate and Espresso.

Drinking Advice:

I added a few drops of Water and the Caol Ila becomes more Fruitier. Not bad as well but less intense. This a matter of personal taste. I prefer it neat but you can certainly add a little Water to this Single Malt.

Rating: 89

Nose: 22.5 - Taste: 22.5 - Finish: 22 - Overall: 22

Drinking Experience:

Very Nice!

Conclusion:

What a come back by Wemyss. What a difference with the Mortlach. This Caol Ila has everything I like in a mature Islay Single Malt. It has depth, it has balance and a very nice interplay between Cask and Spirit. Great Aromas and Flavours and a perfect ABV. There's nothing to complain here. This goes straight into my All Time Top 15. It will be very difficult to find a bottle of this Caol Ila and if you do, you will find it very expensive. But it's worth the effort and the money! If you could see my face right now you would find me smiling from ear to ear. Lovely Whisky!

Jan van den Ende                                                                  August 13, 2018

Aultmore 1997 15 Years (Master of Malt Cask 3560) Review - Aultmore 1991 20 Years (Wilson & Morgan Cask 2683) Review


Introduction:

Most of you know that I mainly use samples and miniatures when preparing my Reviews. I usually buy these in Holland and sometimes in Germany or the UK. Sometimes I receive samples from friends or readers or independent bottlers. In only two cases I received a few samples directly from distilleries. When planning my reviews for the next months I always try to give attention to all Scottish Whisky regions as well as other Whisky/Whiskey/Bourbon producing regions all over the world with special attention to the USA, Ireland and Japan. And last but not least the blends. At the request of many readers I give preference to more recent expressions. As a result, my backlog of older samples has increased quite a bit. To do justice to those samples I will review them in the format of Specials. These specials will deal with a specific distillery like today or with specific bottlers, countries or regions. The reviews in these Specials will concentrate on the Whisky and won't go into too much details of distilleries, maturation etc. I do hope you will like these Specials just as much as my regular reviews and I look forward to your reactions and suggestions. In today's special I will review two Indie expressions distilled at Aultmore - Speyside. Enjoy!
================================================



Whisky Review # 759

Country: Scotland
Region: Speyside
Brand:  Aultmore 1997 - Distilled: May 15
Bottled By: Master of Malt - Single Cask Series - Bottled: April 1, 2013
Type: Single Malt Single Cask Whisky - Cask # 3560 - 261 Bottles
Age: 15 Years
Alcohol By Volume (ABV): 55.8% (Cask Strength)
Maturation: Refill Hogshead
Chill Filtration: No
Price Range: Information Not Available Anymore -  Discontinued
Buying Advice: ๐Ÿ˜‹ Very tasty Speyside Malt. I wouldn't mind own a full bottle!

Colour:

Chardonnay (Natural Colour)

Nose:

Sweet, Waxy, Fruity and Floral. Pleasant although the Alcohol is noticeable. Not really complex. Lots of Fresh Fruit and Puff-Pastry.

Main Aromas:

Toasted Barley, Butter Kekse (German Butter Biscuits), Vanilla, Orange, Grass, Straw, Lemon, Wax, Caffe Latte, Warm Apple/Peach filled Puff Pastry, Banana and Mint.

Supportive Aroma Accents:

Heather-Honey, Floral Perfume, Toffee, Herbs, Charred Oak, Toasted Almonds, Butterscotch, Milk Chocolate, Pear and Mineral notes.


Palate:

Bitter-Sweet, Fruity and Buttery. The Cask Strength is noticeable and Herbs and Spices come to play.

Main Flavours:

Toasted Barley, Butter Biscuits, Apple and Melon filled Puff-Pastry, Banana, Hay, Grass, Orange and Lemon Peel, Vanilla, Pepper and Menthol/Mint.

Supportive Flavour Accents:

Heather Honey, Toasted Almonds, Pear, Cinnamon, Dried Herbs, Ginger, Licorice, Cloves and Charred Oak.

Finish:

Middle-Long, Bitter-Sweet and slightly Hot. Lots of Fruit again accompanied by Herbs and Spices. I find Toasted Barley, Butter Biscuits, Salted Butter, Apple-filled Puff-Pastry, Banana, Vanilla, Grass/Hay, Lemon and Orange Peel, Nutmeg, Cinnamon, Ginger, Pepper, Cloves, Licorice, Menthol, White Chocolate and Caffe Latte. A slight Metallic note pops up every once in a while.

Drinking Advice:

I added a few drops of Water and the Alcohol basically disappears on the Nose. Palate and Finish benefit as well. The overall Aroma/Flavour profile does not change a lot but this Aultmore certainly benefits from a little added water!

Rating: 87

Nose: 22.5 - Taste: 22 - Finish: 21 - Overall: 21.5

Drinking Experience:

Very nice!

Conclusion:

The Aultmore distillery is located in Keith (Banffshire) and was founded in 1896 by Alexander Edward. It is owned by John Dewar & Sons since 1923. Dewar used to belong to the Diageo Group but was sold to Bacardi in 1998. The core range was extended in 2014 and now includes the 12, 18, 21 and 25 Years. All these are Non Chill-Filtered, Uncoloured and bottled at 46%.

This is only my second Aultmore and once again I'm pleasantly surprised. Very nice Fruity and Buttery Malt. Cask Strength is perhaps a tad too much Alcohol so I advise you to add a few drops of Water. Unfortunately, this Single Malt has been discontinued and it will be hard to find a bottle. I have no idea about the price but I would certainly love to have a bottle of this Aultmore in my cabinet. It's not really a complex Single Malt but it's damned tasty. Good stuff!


=================================================


Whisky Review # 760

Country: Scotland
Region: Speyside
Brand: Aultmore 1991
Bottled By: Wilson & Morgan - Barrel Selection - Bottled: September 29, 2011
Type: Single Malt Single Cask Whisky - Cask 2683 - 744 Bottles
Age: 20 Years
Alcohol By Volume (ABV): 50%
Maturation: Sherry Butt
Chill Filtration: No
Price Range: US$ 100-150 (August 2018)
Buying Advice: ๐Ÿ˜€ Good Sherried Speyside Malt. A bit too much Sulphur.

Colour:

Tawny/Auburn (Natural Colour)

Nose:

Sherry cask without any shadow of a doubt. Sweet with lots of Dark Fruit, Nuts and Christmas Cake. Quite some Sulphur as well although it barely stays within my personal limits. The Alcohol is nicely integrated.

Main Aromas:

Malted Barley, Toffee, Dried Fruit like Raisins, Plums and Apricots, Mixed Nuts, Dried Herbs, Straw, Dark Chocolate, Mandarin Juice, Hot Rum Coffee and Mint.

Supportive Aroma Accents:

Floral Perfume, Caramel, Vanilla Biscuits, Nutmeg, Cloves, Nutella, Orange Peel, slightly Sour Berries, Apple, Leather and Maggi Seasoning Sauce.


Palate:

Sweet and Medium-Dry. Lots of Tannins. The Oak is quite noticeable and so is the Sulphur I'm afraid.

Main Flavours:

Toasted Barley, Vanilla, Toffee, Dried Fruit like Raisins, Apricots and Plums, Nuts, Sour Berries, Dark Chocolate, Oak, Orange Peel, Cloves, Nutmeg and Roasted Coffee.

Supportive Flavour Accents:

Blackberry Muffins, Treacle, Rum, Overripe Banana, Buttered Toast and Honey, Pepper, Licorice, Tobacco, Menthol and Leather.

Finish:

Long, Woody and Tannic. Sweet at first but with increasing Bitterness towards the Medium-Dry end. The Sulphur remains quite present. I find Toasted Barley, Vanilla, Dried Fruit (Plums and Apricots), Blackberry Jam, Oak, Seville Orange, Straw, Hazelnuts, Salted Butter, Brandy/Rum, Pepper, Nutmeg, Cloves, Black Espresso, Toffee, Dark Chocolate, Menthol and Leather.

Drinking Advice:

No need to add Water to this Aultmore despite the high ABV. It doesn't get bad mind you but it looses intensity.

Rating: 86

Nose: 22 - Taste: 21.5 - Finish: 21 - Overall: 21.5

Drinking Experience:

Good Sherried Speysider. Quite a bit of Sulphur on the Palate and in the Finish. 

Conclusion:

A Completely different Aultmore but again it does not disappoint. The 1997 is a well-made Speyside Whisky and if you like GlenDronach, Glenfarclas or Aberlour you should give this sherried Aultmore a chance if you can find it. It's got quite a bit of Sulphur but I still fully enjoyed the sample. If I were to choose between the two Aultmore Malts I've tasted today I will go for the 1995 15 Years (Master of Malt). It's really good that Aultmore has extended its core range. I certainly hope to find one or more expressions during my upcoming trip to Europe and the Travel Retail shops! This new core range will certainly bring this distillery on the Single Malt map. And deservedly so!

Jan van den Ende                                                                   August 6, 2018

Port Charlotte Islay Barley 2008 Review - Port Charlotte PC 12 Oileanach Furachail Review


Introduction:

Most of you know that I mainly use samples and miniatures when preparing my Reviews. I usually buy these in Holland and sometimes in Germany or the UK. Sometimes I receive samples from friends or readers or independent bottlers. In only two cases I received a few samples directly from distilleries. When planning my reviews for the next months I always try to give attention to all Scottish Whisky regions as well as other Whisky/Whiskey/Bourbon producing regions all over the world with special attention to the USA, Ireland and Japan. And last but not least the blends. At the request of many readers I give preference to more recent expressions. As a result, my backlog of older samples has increased quite a bit. To do justice to those samples I will review them in the format of Specials. These specials will deal with a specific distillery like today or with specific bottlers, countries or regions. The reviews in these Specials will concentrate on the Whisky and won't go into details about distilleries, maturation etc. I do hope you will like these Specials just as much as my regular reviews and I look forward to your reactions and suggestions. In today's special I will review two peated Port Charlotte expressions of the Bruichladdich distillery on Islay. Enjoy!
================================================



Whisky Review # 753

Country: Scotland
Region: Islay
Distilled at: Bruichladdich
Brand: Port Charlotte Islay Barley 2008 (40PPM)
Type: Single Malt Whisky
Age: NAS
Alcohol By Volume (ABV): 50%
Maturation: Most likely a mix of Ex-Bourbon Casks and European Oak.
Chill Filtration: No
Price Range: US$ 60-70 (July 2018)
Buying Advice: ๐Ÿ˜” Interesting Malt. Lots of Ashes. Expensive given its age!

Colour:

Chardonnay (Natural Colour)

Nose:

Young and a little Dirty but not unpleasant. Initially, the Smoke covers much of the other Aromas so be sure to give this Port Charlotte enough time in the glass. The Nose presents a combination of Floral, Fruity, Herbal and Farmyard notes.

Main Aromas:

Toasted Cereals, Slightly Burnt Buttered Toast, Salted Caramel, Wet Clay, Dirty Smoke, Diesel, a mix of Cow Manure and Straw, Ashes, Burnt Tyres, Smoked Fish and Meat, Lemon, Green Apple and Pipe Tobacco.

Supportive Aroma Accents:

Heather-Honey, Vanilla, Iodine, Soot, Oak Char, Dried Herbs, Cured Ham, Wax, Pine Needles, Pear, Leather, Mint and Papaya Cream.


Palate:

Young, a bit Rough and basically Bitter-Sweet. Quite Dry. Light Metallic Off-Note.

Main Flavours:

Toasted Cereals, Burnt Toast, Peated Biscuits, Salted Caramel, Dirty Smoke,  Wet Earth, Ashes, Soot, Straw, Green Apple, Lemon, Leather, Pepper and White Chocolate.

Supportive Flavour Accents:

Heather-Honey, Charred Oak, Herbal Tea, Smoked Fish & Ham, Pear, Banana, Nuts, Coconut, Sultanas, Cloves and Licorice.


Finish:

Very Long, Bitter-Sweet and slightly Hot and Dirty. Dry towards the end. Lots of Ash! Too much in fact. You're left with the impression of having cleaned a full ashtray with your tongue. I also find Sweet Barley, Buttered Toast, Salted Caramel, Dirty Smoke, Sweet Peat, Smoked Fish and Ham, Banana, Green Apple, Herbal Tea, Heather-Honey, Nuts, Pepper, Charred Oak, Leather and Roasted Coffee.

Drinking Advice:

No need to add Water to this Port Charlotte despite the high ABV.

Rating: 85 

Nose: 22 - Taste: 21 - Finish: 21 - Overall: 21

Drinking Experience

Good and sufficiently interesting. Lots of Ash though!

Conclusion:

Bruichladdich was founded in 1881 by Barnett Harvey. During its history it was mothballed various times, the last time in 1998. In 2012 the distillery was bought by Remy Cointreau. Since, Bruichladdich is showing a healthy growth again. The distillery produces three types of Single Malt, i.e. the unpeated Bruichladdich, the heavily peated Port Charlotte and the very heavily peated  Octomore.

The Port Charlotte Islay Barley is one of the peated expressions of Bruichladdich and is made with Barley produced on 6 different farms on the isle of Islay. It's certainly an interesting Single Malt and there are more than enough interesting Aromas and Flavours to be discovered. It does contain an overdose of Ashes in my opinion and that's the reason I won't drink this Malt on a regular basis. But I enjoyed the Tasting session. It's a very Young Malt despite the Spicy price. It would be very interesting to see how this peated Bruichladdich would develop with more cask time. Would love to have a go at a 15 Year old Islay Barley!


=================================================


Whisky Review # 754

Country: Scotland
Region: Islay
Distilled at: Bruichladdich
Brand: Port Charlotte PC 12 Oileanach Furachail (40 PPM)
Type: Single Malt Whisky
Age: NAS (Distilled in December 2008 - Released in 2014)
Alcohol By Volume (ABV): 58.7% (Cask Strength)
Maturation: Most likely a mix of Ex-Bourbon casks and Sherry Wood. A few Wine casks perhaps?
Chill Filtration: No
Price Range: US$ 140-200 (July 2018)
Buying Advice:๐Ÿ˜ Not bad but too expensive for what it offers!

Colour:

Tawny/Auburn (Natural Colour)

Nose:

The Sherry Wood is quite noticeable and covers the Peat and Smoke with a Sweet layer. I find quite a bit of Sulphur and some Metallic notes as well. It's not as Dirty as Ledaig or even Springbank but there are a few similarities. The Port Charlotte is much Sweeter though. I expected a Peat/Smoke Beast but on the Nose that's not the case. At 40 PPM this comes as a slight surprise.

Main Aromas:

Smoky Grist, Burnt Buttered Toast, Salted Caramel, Farmyard, Straw, Dried Fruit like Plums, Apricots and Sultanas, Dirty Earth, Charred Oak, Polished Leather, Wet Stones, Iodine, Lemon & Grapefruit Juice, Hazelnut-Milk Chocolate and Bacon/Fish on the BBQ.

Supportive Aroma Accents:

Cooked Vegetables, Vanilla, Apple, Brown Sugar, Varnish, Tar, Soot, Ashes, Bitter Orange, Pineapple, Blueberry Pie, Heather-Honey, Mint and Cinnamon.


Palate:

Bitter-Sweet, a bit Hot and slightly Soapy and Dirty. More Peat and Smoke than on the Nose. The Sherry, Sulphur - and Metallic notes remain noticeable. Quite Oily as well.

Main Flavours:

Toasted and Malted Cereals, Salted Caramel, Sweet Dirty Peat, Factory Smoke, Wet Stones, Tar, Soot, Ashes, Dried Fruit like Plums and Apricots, Grapefruit and Lemon Juice, Bitter Orange, Licorice, Pepper, Ginger and Banana Ice Cream.

Supportive Flavour Accents:

Rubber, Gasoline, Vanilla, Burnt Heather, Smoked Ham, Bacon, Polished Leather, Salted Peanuts, Roasted Coffee, Port/Bordeaux Wine, Cloves and Mint.


Finish:

Middle-Long, Bitter-Sweet, a little Rubbery and Medium-Dry towards the end. The Alcohol, Smoke and Soot are much more present than on the Nose. I find Toasted and Malted Cereals, Factory Smoke, Dirty Earth, Tar, Soot, Ashes, light Sulphur, Wet Rocks/Sand, Charred Oak, Salted Peanuts, Vanilla, Orange, Banana Ice Cream, Dried Fruit like Figs and Plums, Dark Chocolate, Port Wine, Polished Leather, Nuts, Espresso, Bacon/Pork on the BBQ, Licorice, Menthol and Pepper.

Drinking Advice:

Despite the high ABV I advise against adding Water. I got images of Menthol flavoured joint gel or something similar. Quite Weird. Better sip it neat.

Rating: 85.5

Nose: 21 - Taste: 21.5 - Finish: 21.5 - Overall: 21.5

Drinking Experience:

Good/Interesting. A bit too much Dirty notes like Sulphur, Rubber, Plastic and Varnish. This is not mainstream stuff. Springbank and Ledaig fans might give this one a go!

Conclusion:

Oileanach Furachail means "Islander that Pays Attention" and refers to Master Distiller Adam Hannett's apprenticeship with Jim McEwan from 2006-2015.

It's not easy to judge these Port Charlotte Malts. The Oileanach Furachail is certainly an interesting Single Malt. You won't get bored with this one. It's not mainstream stuff that makes you yawn. But it does carry a lot of Dirty half Off-notes. At this Price-Level I would like to see a stricter Cask Management. Like the Islay Barley above, the PC 12 is not a whisky for daily consumption. But it's certainly interesting to enjoy a dram once in a while, especially for those who enjoy Springbank and Ledaig. A last suggestion: I have a feeling it would pair very well with Charcoal grilled Sardines.

Jan van den Ende                                                                       July 23, 2018

The Pictures were taken during our visit to Bruichladdich in May 2014.

Lagavulin 1997 Distillers Edition PX Finish Review


“Sweet Malt, Salty Price”

Whisky Review # 752

Country: Scotland
Region: Islay
Brand: Lagavulin 1997 Distillers Edition PX Finish
Type: Single Malt Whisky
Age: 16 Years - Bottled in 2013
Alcohol By Volume (ABV): 43%
Maturation: Ex-Bourbon Casks with a few months of Pedro Ximenez Cask Finish
Chill Filtration: Yes
Price Range: US$ 120-170 (July 2018)
Buying Advice: ๐Ÿ˜ Nice Single Malt. The regular 16 Y has a better P/Q ratio.


Colour:

Full Gold (Artificially Coloured)

Nose:

Nicely matured Islay Malt. The PX Finish gives it a bit of extra Sweetness. A few  Sour, Herbal, Rubbery and Dusty Aromas. Quite pleasant and Medium-Dry. This Lagavulin would shine even more if bottled at 46%.

Main Aromas:

Toasted and Malted Cereals, Burnt Toast, Treacle, Brown Sugar, Heather-Honey, (Cigar) Smoke, Peat, Iodine, Dried Fruit like Raisins, Plums and Figs, Seville Orange, Cinnamon, Pepper, Leather and Tobacco.

Supportive Aroma Accents:

Toffee, Vanilla, Soot, Tar, Brine, Salted Ham, Bacon on the BBQ, Lemon, Wax, Red Apples, Maraschino Cherries, Roasted Coffee, Dark Chocolate, Cloves and Menthol.


Palate:

A little Thin. An ABV of 46% would have been more adequate. On the Palate, the PX Finish is Bitter-Sweet with a few Salty, Mineral and Grassy notes.

Main Flavours:

Toasted/Malted Cereals, Heather-Honey, Treacle, (Cigar) Smoke, Peat, Iodine, Tar, Soot, Ashes, Smoked Fish and Bacon, Dried Fruit like Raisins and Figs, Oak, Dark Chocolate, Leather, Pepper, Menthol and Licorice.

Supportive Flavour Accents:

Vanilla, Salted Caramel, Nuts, Red Apple, Dusty Track, Wet Rocks/Sand, Herbal Tea, Roasted Coffee, Lemon, Tobacco and Cloves.

Finish:

Middle-Long, Bitter-Sweet and Medium-Dry. I find Toasted and Malted Cereals, Toast, Treacle, Caramel, (Cigar) Smoke, Peat, Iodine, Ashes, Soot, Tar, Salted Fish and Bacon, Wet Stones, Dried Fruit like Raisins and Figs, Dark Chocolate, Oak, Seville-Orange, Roasted Coffee, Leather, Tobacco, Licorice, Pepper, Cloves and Menthol.


Drinking Advice:

I added a few drops of Water and the Nose becomes more Malty and Peaty. More Salty Bacon and Spices on the Palate and in the Finish. I liked it both ways but be sure to add only a few drops. Otherwise you will drown this Lagavulin.

Rating: 86.5

Nose: 22 - Taste: 21.5 - Finish: 21.5 - Overall: 21.5


Drinking Experience:

Good. It deserves an ABV of 46%.

Conclusion:

The distillery was founded in 1816 by John Johnston and is located on the South-Eastern coast of Islay, close to Port Ellen. It changed hands various times during its history but today it is firmly controlled by Diageo. Lagavulin currently produces around 2.5 million litres. Lagavulin is one of the key Malts in the White Horse Blend.

This PX Finish was launched for the first time in 1998 and it has become an annual crowd-pleaser. The edition I'm tasting today was distilled in 1997 and bottled in 2013. It's a nice and balanced Single Malt although the ABV is slightly on the low side. An ABV of 46% would be perfect for this Malt. My problem with this Single Malt is the price. Because in reality it's just the regular 16 years with a short PX cask Finish. This short Finish makes this Lagavulin a little Sweeter but its Price Tag quite Salty! I can easily live without both. The Lagavulin PX Finish Distillers Edition is a nice Single Malt but the regular 16 Years has a much better Price/Quality ratio.

The pictures were taken during our visits to the distillery in May 2014 and May 2017