Showing posts with label Single Malt Irish Whiskey Review. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Single Malt Irish Whiskey Review. Show all posts

Tyrconnell 15 Years Reviews


“Last of 2019 But Not Least” 

Whisky Review # 850

Country: Ireland
Brand: Tyrconnell
Distilled at: Cooley
Type: Single Malt Single Cask Irish Whiskey - Cask #3178/92
Age: 15 Years
Alcohol By Volume (ABV): 46%
Maturation: Ex- Bourbon cask
Chill Filtration:No
Price: Around US$ 100 (December 2019)
Price/Quality Ratio: Okay.
Buying Advice: 😔It's nice but perhaps a little too expensive for what it offers.

Colour: Pale Gold/Straw (Natural Colour)

Nose:

Light, Sweet, Floral, Fruity and Buttery. The Alcohol is present so be sure not to poke your nose in the middle of the Glass right away. Slowly find your way around the edges. This will certainly enhance your Nosing experience. There's nothing really special going on here but what you get is sufficiently pleasant.

Main Aromas:

Sweet Malted Barley, Butter Kekse (German Butter Biscuits), Vanilla, Banana-Flavoured Yogurt, Green Apple, Pear, Gooseberry and Fresh Mint.
    
Supportive Aroma Accents:

Honey, Caramel, Toast, Toffee, Raisins, Herbal Tea, Coconut, Lemon, Cinnamon, Toasted Oak, Grass and Orange Juice.



Palate:

Bitter-Sweet and Creamy. It's nice but a little more Edgy than the Nose would suggest. Still I find lots of Creamy Barley, Fresh Fruit and a few Spices and Herbs.

Main Flavours:

Malted Barley, Butter Biscuits, Vanilla, Grass, Green Apple, Pear, Toasted Oak, Plum, Cinnamon, Mint Tea and Aniseed.    

Supportive Flavour Accents:

Honey, Caramel, Almonds, Nougat, Straw, Lemon, Gooseberry, Toffee, Banana-Flavoured Yogurt, Resin, Licorice and Pepper.   

Finish:

Middle-Long, Creamy, Oily & Sweet with an increasing Bitterness towards the Medium-Dry/Dry end. The Alcohol certainly remains noticeable throughout. In the Finish it reminds me a bit of Slivovitz, the East-European Plum Liqueur. I find Malted Barley, Vanilla, Toffee, Butter Biscuits, Hay & Grass, Cocoa Powder, Plum, Lemon, Gooseberry, Green Apple, Banana, Honey, Licorice, Mint and Pepper.  

Drinking Advice:

I added a bit of Water and that calms down the Alcohol. But other than that it does not improve this Tyrconnell. Better sip it neat.

Rating: 85 

Nose: 22 - Taste: 21 - Finish: 21 - Overall: 21 

Drinking Experience Neat: Good

Conclusion:

Tyrconnell is the name of an Irish race horse that won the Irish Derby in 1876 at 100-1 odds. The original distillery was founded in 1820 by Alexander Stuart but closed in 1925. The brand name was bought and reintroduced by the Cooley Distillery in 1988.

This is certainly one of the more pleasant Irish Whiskies I've tasted so far. It's pretty straightforward but the overall impression is positive. The Nose is the best part in my opinion. Palate and Finish can't quit maintain the same level but nevertheless this is a solid Tyrconnell. 


I would like to wish all my readers and their families a very Happy, Healthy and Malty 2020 and look forward to welcome you back with Review # 851 in early January!

Cheers!

Jan van den Ende                                                              December 27, 2019

That Boutique -Y 12 Years Batch 2 (2018) Review



“Half a Boy and Half a Man”

Whisky Review # 843

Country: Ireland
Brand: That Boutique-Y Whiskey Company - Batch 2 - 429 bottles
Distilled at: Unknown (Cooley or Bushmills) - Released March 2018
Type: Single Malt Irish Whiskey
Age: 12 Years
Alcohol By Volume (ABV): 48.6%
Maturation: Probably Ex-Bourbon Cask(s)
Chill Filtration: No
Price Range: Around US$ 75 (December 2019) - 0,5 Litre!
Price/Quality Ratio: 👎The Whiskey is okay but too expensive for what it offers.
Buying Advice: 😑It's not bad but it doesn't work for me personally.

Colour: Pale White Wine (Natural Colour)

Nose:

Did Batch # 2 only use Ex-Bourbon casks or is there some New Oak involved as well. I get impressions from both actually. The Nose is Grassy, Fruity and a bit Mineral. It's Sweet but not overly so. The Alcohol is noticeable. Be sure to give this Single Malt enough time in the glass before Nosing as it opens rather slowly.

Main Aromas:

Malt Biscuits, Vanilla, Grass, Wax, Paint-Thinner, Nougat, Pear, Apple, Freshly Cut Wood, Resin, Pineapple, Mixed Nuts, Fresh Herbs (Mint, Coriander, Thyme) and Green Plants.
    
Supportive Aroma Accents:

Buttered Toast, Honey, Marshmallow, Green Banana, Melon, Tangerine, Lemon, White Wine, Damp Cellar, Iron, Cinnamon, Salt, Ginger and Pepper.

Bushmills

Palate:

A mixture of Sweet, Bitter, Sour and Salty notes. It's a bit Sharp for my liking. I'm not really seduced to have another sip if you know what I mean.

Main Flavours:

Malted Barley, Vanilla, Wax, Salted Butter, Pear, Apple, Grapefruit, Pineapple, Orange, Salted Nuts (Almonds), Pepper and Ginger.

Supportive Flavour Accents:

Honey, Resin, Lemon, Plums, Melon, Nougat, Fresh Herbs, White Chocolate and Cinnamon.

Finish:

Middle-Long and slightly Sharp. Sweet, Salty, Bitter & Sour notes. Dry towards the end. I manage to identify Malted Barley, Vanilla, Honey, Wax, Grass, Butter, Salted Almonds, Nougat, Apple, Pear, Green Banana, Grapefruit, Lemon, Kiwi, Plums, Pepper, Cinnamon and Fresh Herbs.

Drinking Advice:

I added a little Water and that develops the Green notes and introduces a few Floral notes as well. The sharpness decreases on the Nose, Palate and Finish and that's a good thing. The Finish does become shorter this way and slightly Thin as well. As always, this is a very personal thing. But you can certainly add a few drops in this case.

Rating: 82.5

Nose: 21.5 - Taste: 20.5 - Finish: 20 - Overall: 20.5

Drinking Experience Neat: Okay/Good

Conclusion:

That Boutique-Y Whisky Company is a Trading Name of Atom Supplies Ltd of Tonbridge in Kent (UK). The company bottles Single Malts & Grains, Bourbon, Blended Whisky and Blended Malt Whisky using a variety of renowned distilleries and labelling their bottles with fun, informative, humorous graphics, jokes and puns.

The 12 Years I'm tasting today was bottled in March 2018. I don't really know what to write about it. I found it to be okay but not more than that. It didn't touch me neither positively nor negatively. I  just would not fancy another dram of it. The Nose is the best part. But Palate and Finish possess a few Bitter, Sour & Varnish notes that don't quite work for me. Are the casks to blame or should it have matured longer? Whatever the reason(s), I'm a bit disappointed with this or that Boutique-Y. Can't help it! And, by the way, I think it's Bushmills!!!

Cheers!

Jan van den Ende                                                              December 3, 2019

Cooley

Tipperary The Rising Review




“It’s Still a Long Way For Tipperary”

Whisky Review # 820

Country: Ireland
Brand: Tipperary The Rising - Boutique Selection - Small Batch - 1916 Bottles
Distilled at: Undisclosed - Bottled in 2016 at Tipperary Boutique Distillery
Type: Single Malt Irish Whiskey
Age: 11 Years
Alcohol By Volume (ABV): 47%
Maturation: First Fill and Refill Bourbon casks
Chill Filtration: No
Price Range: US$ 170-220 (July 2019)
Buying Advice: 😒 It's really expensive at the moment for what it offers!

Colour:

Golden (Natural Colour)

Nose:

Light and Fresh but not unpleasant. The main drivers are slightly unripe Fruit, Floral notes and Grass. The Alcohol is noticeable but does not really interfere with the Nosing procedures.

Main Aromas:

Toasted Grains, Buttered Toast, Caramel, Straw, Grass, Nectarine, Pineapple, Papaya, Green Apple, Pear and Milk Chocolate.

Supportive Aroma Accents:

Honey, Vanilla, Toffee, Brown Sugar, Melon, Banana, Lemon, Ginger Bread and a touch of White Pepper.

Related image
Palate:

Bitter-Sweet, Spicy and slightly Sour. Its relative Youth is noticeable and so is the Alcohol. There are some indifferent casks in the mix.

Main Flavours:

Toasted Grains, Roasted Nuts, Vanilla, Nectarine, Pineapple, Green Apple, Pear, Grass, Hay, Milk Chocolate, Pepper and Toasted Oak.

Supportive Flavour Accents:

Honey, Sour Grapes, Lemon, Unripe Banana, Wet Rocks, Herbal Tea, Menthol and Ginger.

Finish:

Short/Middle-Long. A mix of Sweet, Sour and some really Bitter notes that are slightly overdone. The Alcohol stings a little. This is certainly the weakest part of this Tipperary. I find Toasted Grains, Vanilla, Roasted Nuts, Toasted Oak, Sour Apples and Grapes, Pear, Grass, Honey, Pepper, Menthol and Ginger.

Drinking Advice:

The Tipperary does not improve with added Water.

Rating: 84

Nose: 21.5 - Taste: 21 - Finish: 20.5  - Overall: 21

Drinking Experience Neat: Okay/Good

Conclusion:

The Tipperary Boutique Distillery Project in Clonmel started in 2016. The idea is to distill a Single Malt Whiskey with their own Barley grown on the Ballindoney farm in the Tipperary County. As long as their own whiskey is not available, the distillery bottles Small Batch Whiskey that was produced at undisclosed Irish distilleries. These batches accurately reflect the type of Whiskey that Tipperary wants to produce in the future.

The Tipperary The Rising is not really a bad Irish Single Malt but I have to admit I'm totally indifferent to it. It's a rather Young and Edgy Whiskey that carries a Bitterness that is frankly unpleasant, especially in the Finish. The Fruit Aromas and Flavours are quite unripe and the Alcohol is noticeable throughout. This Tipperary could have done with a few extra years in good casks. If this is the desired future Whiskey of the new distillery I would advise to carefully look at the Wood Management. Good Spirit without good casks will lead to nothing. I do wish the distillery all the best for the future and I'm looking forward to review their first own Single Malt.

Cheers!

Jan van den Ende                                                                      July 15 , 2019
Related image

Hyde 10 Years Sherry Cask Finish Review


“No Need To Hyde This Whiskey”

Country: Ireland
Brand: Hyde Batch # 1 Presidential Cask (Sherry Cask Finish) 
Type: Single Malt Irish Whiskey
Age: 10 Years
ABV: 46%
Sample provided by: Hibernia Distillers, Ireland. Many Thanks!

Colour: Golden Amber

Nose: Please give this Hyde 10 Years sufficient air contact before Nosing to enable it to release its Aromas. It doesn't smell as clean as your average Triple Distilled Irish Whiskey but also not quite as complex and balanced as your average 10-12 Year old Standard Scottish Highland Single Malt. The First Fill American Oak is quite noticeable and remind me a bit of some German, Dutch and Swiss Whiskies I have nosed over the years. The Sherry Cask influence is there but it certainly does not dominate the Spirit. On the Nose, the Hyde 10 Years is mostly Sweet and Fruity but I detect some Sour accents as well. I find assorted Fruit Candies (Peach, Nectarine, Orange, Grapes, Banana, Orchard Fruit), Heather-Honey, Floral Perfume, Grass, Yeast, Buttered Croissant, Vanilla, Wood Shavings, Varnish, light Barley, Ginger Ale and hints of Dairy, Dusty Road and Fresh Mint.

Palate: Sweet at first but a little Edgy and Bitter later on. Again, the First Fill American Oak shows its presence. The Alcohol is a bit on the Strong side as well. I find Sweet Barley, Vanilla, Toffee, Butter Biscuits, Nectarine, Apricot, Orange, Banana, Grapes, Floral (Honey) notes, Pepper, Ginger and Nutmeg.  

Finish: Middle-Long. Sweet and a little Hot at first. In the end a light Dry Bitterness pops up. I find Toasted New Oak, Toasted Grain, Ginger-Bread, Toffee, Vanilla, Orange, Nectarine, light Menthol, Licorice, Pepper, Salt and a hint of Dark Chocolate.

I added a bit of Water and on the Nose the Fruity notes are reinforced. I find some additional Sweet Red Apple. The Barley is more noticeable as well. Palate and Finish do not benefit from the added Water however.

Rating: 81.5  

Nose: 20.5 – Taste: 20 – Finish: 20.5 – Overall: 20.5


General Remarks: Hibernia Distillers Ltd was founded in March 2014 by the current managers Conor and Alan Hyde. The Head Office is located in Cork. In early 2015 they released the Hyde 10 Years Presidential Cask, paying homage to Ireland's first president Douglas Hyde (1938-1945).This Irish Single Malt was double-distilled in Copper Pot Stills, using 100% Malted Irish Barley. It matured for around 10 Years in Flame-Charred First Fill Ex-Bourbon casks before being finished for around 6 months in First Fill Ex-Oloroso casks from Southern Spain. It's a limited edition with 5000 bottles only. In the meantime Batch # 2 has been released as well. It's also a 10 Year old Single Malt Whiskey, this time with an Ex-Dark Caribbean Rum cask Finish. Both expressions are not Chill-Filtered. 
As Hibernia Distillers was only founded in early 2014, they will only be able to present their own Whiskey in 3-5 years. The Spirit used for the Hyde Batch # 1 and 2 was purchased from the Cooley Distillery. The Sherry Finishing was done by Hibernia. The Hyde 10 Years Sherry Finish is not cheap at an average 60 US Dollars (January 2016).    

Drinking Experience Neat: Good  

Conclusion: The Hyde 10 Years is an interesting Whisky without any doubt. It's certainly not as Irish as many of the Irish Whiskies I have tasted so far and it's also different from Scottish and West European Whiskies. It is a combination of all of those really. It's not a very complicated Single Malt though and Sweet Fruit Candies, Virgin Oak and Floral - and Pastry notes are the main drivers. As such I find the price a bit stiff. Still, it's a good enough first effort from a brand new company. "No Need to Hyde this Whiskey". I wish Hibernia Distillers all the best for the future and look forward to their first "own" expressions in the years to come. It's good to see Ireland exploring new Whiskey roads! 

Jan van den Ende                                                                 January 21, 2016