Showing posts with label Irish Blended Whiskey Review. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Irish Blended Whiskey Review. Show all posts

Writer's Tears Copper Pot Deau XO Cognac Cask Finish


”No More Tears”


Whisky Review # 970

Country: Ireland 🇮🇪
Brand: Writer's Tears Copper Pot Deau XO Cognac Cask Finish
Bottled/Distilled/Matured for: Walsh Whiskey Ltd, Carlow
Distilled at: Undisclosed. Probably 50/50 Middleton and Bushmills
Type: Blend of Single Malt and Single Pot Still Irish Whiskey - Single Cask -# NA
Edition: Limited Edition - Discontinued
Age: NAS
Alcohol By Volume (ABV): 46% (Triple-Distilled)
Maturation: Ex-Bourbon casks with Finish in French Oak Cognac casks
Chill Filtration: No
Sample provided by Jan from The Netherlands. Many Thanks!
Average Price: US$ 45-75 (November 2022)
Price/Quality Ratio: 😐 Okay at around US$ 45
Buying Advice: 👎 Go for the Redbreast 12 Years instead

Colour: Light Amber with shades of Orange (Natural Colour)

Nose:

Young and Light but not unpleasant. A mix of Sweet and Sour, Fruity & Floral notes accompanied by chunks of Toffee and Vanilla. The Alcohol is noticeable. The Cognac influence is limited.

Main Aromas:

Sweet Barley, Buttered Toast, Vanilla, Toffee, Green Apple, Pear, Orange and Lemon Peel, Floral Perfume, Cinnamon and Cloves.
    
Supportive Aroma Accents:

Caramel, Honey, Demerara Sugar, Banana, Nectarine, White Apricot,  Nuts, Slightly Sour Grapes, Berries and Cherries, Nuts, Ginger and Dusty Oak.

Palate:

Young, Thin and Edgy. The Alcohol is clearly noticeable. Mixed Sweet & Sour Fruity and Floral notes. There's a New Make Spirit feel to this Copper Pot.

Main Flavours:

Sweet Barley, Caramel, Vanilla, Toffee, Green Apple, Pear, Sour Grapes and Berries like Gooseberry, Bitter English Marmalade, Floral Perfume, Pepper, Cinnamon, Dusty Oak and Marzipan.

Supportive Flavour Accents:

Honey, Butterscotch, Banana, Lemon, Nuts, Cocoa Powder, Sultanas, Cloves, Ginger and Licorice. A hint of Espresso.

Finish:

Short/Middle-Long, Young & slightly Edgy with a light Alcohol Burn. It doesn't really invite me to have another sip. I find Toasted Grain, Brown Sugar, Caramel, Vanilla, Honey, Banana, Lemon, Bitter Orange Marmalade, Sour Berries & Cherries, Nuts, Cocoa Powder, Floral Perfume, Sultanas, Varnish, Dusty Track, Green Apples, Dusty Oak, Pepper, Cloves, Cinnamon, Licorice and Espresso.

Drinking Advice:

Due to the size of the sample I only tasted this Writer's Tears neat

Rating: 80.5 - Stars on a 1-10 scale: 6.5 (******1/2)

Nose: 21 - Taste: 20 - Finish: 19.5 - Overall: 20

*** Important Note with respect to Rating.

A few of my loyal readers have pointed out that every once in a while my final Rating note does not seem to be totally in line with the written text. I recognize that. When I started this Whisky Blog back in 2011, I was not at all experienced in tasting and scoring Single Malts & Blends. Looking back I realize that during the early years I probably scored the good Whiskies too low and the not so good Whiskies too high. Ever since the beginning I try to remain consequent in my rating, always comparing the outcome to the rating of comparable whiskies in terms of quality and taste and adjusting the final rating if necessary. This might lead to the discrepancy I mentioned before. It would have been much easier if I would have chosen a simple 1-10 rating since the beginning but after having reviewed 950 whiskies it would not be wise to change the system now. I will however from now on add stars on the 1-10 scale so you will have a better idea of what I thought of the whisky reviewed. And I'm planning to only use the 1-10 scale as of January 1, 2023. Please feel free to comment!

Drinking Experience Neat: Okay

Conclusion:

The Walsh Whiskey company was founded as Hot Irishman Ltd in 1999 by Bernard & Rosemary Walsh. In 2006 the company signed a long-term supply agreement with a distillery for the distilling and maturation of Irish Whiskey to their specifications. The Irishman blend was launched in 2007 followed by Writer's Tears in 2009. The latter is a vatting of Single Malt & Single Pot Still Whiskeys. In 2014 the construction of Royal Oak distillery (Carlow) was started in a partnership with Lllva Saronno, the Italian drinks giant. The distillery started production in 2016. Unfortunately the partnership with Lllva Saronno as well as the involvement with the Royal Oak distillery ended a few years ago as the partners differed with respect to the development of the distillery in the future. I would not be surprised if the dispute was about the concept of Craft Distillery Vs. Global Whiskey Producer. Most likely, the Whiskey for the Walsh Brand is currently being distilled by Middleton and/or Bushmills.

The Copper Pot Deau XO Cognac Finish was released in early 2019 and is a premium edition of the regular Copper Pot. It is a Blend of aged Single Malt and Single Pot Still Whiskey that was finished for 9 months in 12 French Limousin Oak casks from the Allary cooperage that were seasoned for 10-15 Years with Deau XO Cognac from the Legaret family.

Generally speaking, I'm not a huge fan of Irish Whiskey and/or other Triple-distilled spirits. This Writer's Pot Deau XO does nothing to change my opinion. It's Young, rather Thin and Edgy and the Alcohol is never far away. The Cognac influence is very limited. The Nose is okay but Palate and Finish do not really challenge me to have another sip. Give my portion but to Fikkie as the Dutch would say!

Cheers! 🥃

Jan van den Ende                                                                  November 17, 2022

Powers Gold Review

Image result for powers gold whiskey

“All that Glitters Is Not Gold”

Whisky Review # 824

Country: Ireland
Brand: Powers Gold
Bottled in Bond by: John Power & Son, Smithfield, Dublin
Distilled: Midleton Distillery, Cork
Type: Blended Irish Whiskey
Age: NAS (5-6 Years)
Alcohol By Volume (ABV): 40%
Maturation: 2nd and 3rd Refill Bourbon Casks
Chill Filtration: No
Price: Around US$ 30-35 (August 2019)
Buying Advice: 😐Indifferent Blend. Good for Mixing. P/Q ratio: 👍

Colour:

Amber (Artificially Coloured)

Nose:

Young and a little Edgy. The Grain Alcohol is quite present. Mostly Sweet with a few slightly Sour Citrus notes. A distinct note of Charred Oak as well.

Main Aromas:

Sugared Breakfast Cereals, Cake, Vanilla, Straw, Toasted Oak, Green Apple, Mandarin, Orange, Cinnamon, Menthol and Pepper.

Supportive Aroma Accents:

Barley, Butter Kekse (German Butter Biscuits), Caramel, Honey, Pear, Lemon and a light hint of Varnish. There's also a bit of Dark Red Fruit but I can't quite pin it down.

Image result for powers gold

Palate:

Young, Buttery and Spicy. A bit Rough. The Grain Alcohol, Youth and indifferent casks tell their story.

Main Flavours:

Sugared Grains, Buttered Toast, Cake, Caramel, Toffee, Dough, Charred Oak, Mandarin, Green Apple, Cinnamon, Pepper, Nutmeg, Cloves and Licorice.  

Supportive Flavour Accents:

Barley, Honey, Vanilla, Lemon, Seville Oranges, Nuts and Nutshells, Pear and Dairy.

Finish:

Short/Middle-Long. Sweet and Buttery with increasing Bitterness towards the end. I find Barley & other Cereals, Caramel, Vanilla, Honey, Toasted Oak, Pear, Green Apple, Dough, Nuts and Nutshells, Pepper, Cinnamon, Nutmeg, Cloves and Licorice.

Drinking Advice:

I added some Water and the sharpish Alcohol retreats of course. That makes it easier to drink but it also kills most of the Flavours and Aromas.

Rating: 76

Nose: 20 - Taste: 19 - Finish: 18 - Overall: 19

Drinking Experience Neat: Okay

Conclusion:

Powers Gold is the best-selling Whiskey in the Republic of Ireland. It's a mixture of Pot Still Whiskey that is made from malted and un-malted Barley and Grain Whiskey. It's triple-distilled of course and the producers discard more heads and tails of the 2nd and 3rd charges thus creating a higher quality Spirit. I'm tasting the old 40% Powers today. In 2013 it was relaunched with a new packaging and a new mash bill while bottled at 43.2%.

Powers Gold is not a bad blend and the P/Q ratio is okay. It doesn't make me happy and it doesn't make me sad. In fact it doesn't make me feel anything. The Spirit is actually okay but it suffers from indifferent refill casks. Maybe the new formula and higher ABV will improve this Blend. As it is, it's okay for mixing I suppose but not really interesting enough as a sipping Whiskey. It's stuff for parties and drinking. Powers to All Our Friends!

Cheers!

Jan van den Ende                                                                   August 6, 2019

Related image

Jameson Caskmates IPA Review



“Back from Holidays”

Whisky Review # 818

Country: Ireland
Brand: Jameson Caskmates - IPA Edition
Distilled at: Midleton Distillery, Cork
Type: Irish Blended Whiskey
Age: NAS (Probably 3-5 Years)
Alcohol By Volume (ABV): 40%
Maturation: Refill Bourbon. Perhaps some Sherry. Finished in Beer Barrels.
Chill Filtration: Yes
Price Range: US$ 25-35 (July 2019)
Buying Advice: 😐Neutral. It's basically a standard Jameson. P/Q ratio: Okay

Colour:

Golden Amber (Artificially Coloured)

Nose:

Young, Light and Sweet. This is quite close to the Standard Jameson. I don't think it was finished for more than a few months in the Beer Barrels. I only get a few extra floral notes and perhaps a bit of Lemon. The Alcohol is noticeable.

Main Aromas:

Sweet Grain, Sugar-Coated Roasted Nuts, Vanilla, Toffee, Resin, Straw, Orange Marmalade, Lemon, Grapefruit Juice, Wood Pellets and Cinnamon.

Supportive Aroma Accents:

Toasted Barley, Buttered Toast, Honey, Wild Flowers, Green Apple, Pear, Dried Herbs, Mint and Ginger.

Related image

Palate:

Young and mostly Sugary Sweet. A few slightly Bitter and Sour notes as well.

Main Flavours:

Sweet Grains, Sugar-Coated Nuts, Resin, Vanilla, Toffee, Green Apple, Lemon, Grapefruit, Straw, Cinnamon, Ginger, Pepper and Milk Chocolate.

Supportive Flavour Accents:

Honey, Toast, Orange, Pear, Wood Pellets, Cocoa Powder, Herbal Tea, Alcohol and Mint.

Finish:

On the Short side. Basically very Sweet but with a light Bitter note towards the end that seems to be somewhat out of place. I find Sweet Grain, Vanilla, Toffee/Butterscotch, Sugar-Coated Almonds, Green Apple, Grapefruit, Lemon,  Pear, Alcohol, Dusty Track, Toasted Refill Oak, Cocoa Powder, Cinnamon, Mint, Pepper and Herbal Tea.

Drinking Advice:

I added a bit of Water and I actually got a few Beer/Yeast notes on the Nose. The Palate does not improve and the Finish becomes almost non-existing. No need to add Water therefore.

Rating: 78.5

Nose: 20.5 - Taste: 19.5  - Finish: 19 - Overall: 19.5

Drinking Experience Neat: Okay

Drinking Experience on the Rocks: Okay

Conclusion:

On a regular basis, Jameson provides local craft beer brewers with some casks to mature beer. In 2013 the idea was born to try finishing Jameson Whiskey in barrels that were used to produce Stout Beer. The Jameson Caskmates Stout Edition went to the market in 2014 with good results. The Jameson Caskmates IPA is the second edition in these series and has been released in 2017. The distillery used casks of the Franciscan Well Brewery in Cork that were used to make Irish India Pale Ale. As of 2019, barrels from Eight Degrees Brewing, Cork were (also) used  to produce the IPA Edition.

The Jameson IPA disappoints me in so far that I can't find any significant Beer Barrel influence. It's actually dangerously close to a standard Jameson Whiskey. It might be of interest to investigate if a longer Finish would bring significant additional Aromas and Flavours to the the table but as it stands I can't see a bright future for this IPA Edition. Jameson fans can safely stick to the standard expression.

Cheers!

Jan van den Ende                                                                        July 9, 2019

Image result for midleton distillery

Teeling Small Batch Review



“ To Be Young, Simple and Hot” 

Whisky Review # 814

Country: Ireland
Brand: Teeling Small Batch (Bottled December 2017)
Bottled by: Teeling Whiskey Company, Newmarket, Dublin
Type: Blended Irish Whiskey
Age: NAS
Alcohol By Volume (ABV): 46%
Maturation: Bourbon Casks (First Fill & Refill) with a Six Months Rum Cask Finish
Chill Filtration: No
Price Range: Around US$ 35-50 (May 2019)
Buying Advice: 😐Young, Simple and Hot. Good P/Q ratio at around US$ 35. 

Colour:

Chardonnay (Natural Colour)

Nose:

Light, Young and Sweet. A few Sour and Bitter notes as well. Green, Fruity and Grassy tones. The Grain Alcohol is quite noticeable. A bit on the Dry side.

Main Aromas:

Malted Cereals, Cake and Cream, Vanilla, Fresh Herbs, Warm Apple-Pie with a dollop of Cinnamon, Grass and Green Vegetables, Sour Berries, Orange, Raisins and a bit of Nutmeg.

Supportive Aroma Accents:

Caramel, Honey, Pear, Lemon, Nuts, Fresh Oak, White Chocolate, Dusty Track and some Sour Cherries.

Image result for teeling whiskey distillery stills

Palate:

Light and Young. The Grain Alcohol remains quite noticeable. On the Palate I find a mix of Sweet, Bitter and Sour notes. Again, quite Green and Grassy.

Main Flavours:

Toasted Cereals, Vanilla, Apple, Pear, Grass, Green Vegetables, Straw, Orange, Lemon, Raisins, Cinnamon, Pepper and Nutmeg.

Supportive Flavour Accents:

Honey-Melon, Unripe Bananas, Herbal Tea, Nectarine, White Chocolate, Young Rum and Licorice.

Finish:

Young, Short, Bitter-Sweet, Sour and a little Hot. Quite Dry towards the end. Green and Grassy notes remain in the lead. The Alcohol does spoil a bit of the fun. I find Toasted Cereals, Yeast, Caramel, Honey, Grass & Green Vegetables, Straw, Dried Herbs, Pepper, Nutmeg, Cinnamon, Charred Oak and Nectarines. Despite its Youth, it presents a mild Creaminess.

Drinking Advice:

I added a few drops of Water and the Alcohol retreats which is good. Fruity and Malty this way. A bit of Butter as well. The Nose becomes quite Thin though. Palate and Finish become respectively Thin and almost Non-Existent. Like young Rum or Tequila almost. Better sip it neat although you might consider adding a few drops before Nosing.

Rating: 80

Nose: 20 - Taste: 20 - Finish: 20 - Overall: 20

Drinking Experience Neat: Okay/Good

Drinking Experience on the Rocks: Light but Good

Conclusion:

In 1989, John Teeling started the Cooley Distillery together with his sons Jack and Stephen. John sold the distillery in 2011 to Beam-Suntory. Part of the agreement was that Teeling retained 16.000 casks of ageing Cooley Whiskey. In 2012, Jack and Stephen founded Teeling Whiskey Company, bottling the Cooley casks under the Teeling label. Subsequently they founded a new distillery in the year 2015 in Dublin but also continue to bottle the sourced Cooley casks that have aged sufficiently.

The Teeling Small Batch is a Blend of around 35% Malt Whiskey and 65% Grain Whiskey. It's a NAS expression but it's said to be at least 5 Years old. I must admit I like the Teeling policy. Good ABV, Natural Colour and Non Chill-Filtered. I would almost say that in this case the ABV is a tad too high for the Young and Underdeveloped Spirit. If you can buy it at around 35 US Dollars, the P/Q ratio is quite okay. Don't expect heaven though as the Grain Alcohol rules big time. But if you like a Young, Grassy, Green and slightly Rough Irish Whiskey you should be okay at this Price-Level. Personally I think it's too Young, Edgy and Simple to consider as a sipping Whiskey but it's okay on the Rocks and that's how I'm going to finish the 1 liter bottle I bought at the Travel Retail Shop at Sao Paulo Airport.

Cheers!

Jan van den Ende                                                                     May 1, 2019